Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
dennyjones

Lexi Thompson's 4 Stroke Penalty at the ANA

947 posts / 62615 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

I'm watching the ANA ladies tournament and they are assessing Lexi Thompson a 4 stroke penalty from yesterday's round based upon a viewer's phone call.  It seems she marked her ball and when it was replaced it wasn't in the same area.    She then signed an incorrect round that is another 2 stroke penalty.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

6 minutes ago, dennyjones said:

I'm watching the ANA ladies tournament and they are assessing Lexi Thompson a 4 stroke penalty from yesterday's round based upon a viewer's phone call.  It seems she marked her ball and when it was replaced it wasn't in the same area.    She then signed an incorrect round that is another 2 stroke penalty.  

Same ole viewer bs affecting the game. Pretty sad when even the other players say its bs. Once  round is over it should be over.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it was poor form on the LPGA that they found out on the 7th hole, then didn't tell Lexi until after the 12th. It doesnt take a damn hour and a half to make that call. Take away 4 shots from the leader, IN A MAJOR, with 6 holes left. Embarrassing. If she comes back to win it would be phenomenal. I'm now a huge Lexi fan. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Never mind just the round being over...can we all agree that at least when the day is over it should be over?  If it's that important and you are going to call it that tight put a rules official on each golfer and call it when it happens.  And if you are going to use instant replay review, do it on all shots for every golfer and use it instantly...it's kind of in the name.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

17 minutes ago, 26point2 said:

Kinda crap.  Wonder what player this person is a fan of. 

That was exactly what I was thinking. I'll bet dollars to donuts, if Lexi was behind it wouldn't have been brought up. A day late? I think that is totally wrong. I think once the day is over, that's the end of it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just saw the video.  Wasn't there a similar controversy for a foreign player where many people thought she purposely moved it to a side to - perhaps avoid a spike mark? I thought she was DQ'd for that (I may be wrong).

If the other player was indeed DQ'd (I'll have to search the internet), then Lexi got off a lot easier IMHO.  Not commenting on whether the rule is fair or not, just saying.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think golf really needs to do something about HD rules! I can't call the NFL to complain about an uncalled penalty, or a penalty that was called and shouldn't have been. Not at the time let alone a day later! If it's not called at the time, it's over!

I didn't see it, but I don't know how you could mark your ball and not replace it in the same area. Unless it was lift, clean and drop, or she had to move her marker on the green because it was in another player's line and she forgot to move it back. For as much money as they play for, even the ladies, I would imagine that the players watch each other like hawks! I know I would!

EDIT: Ah, just saw Yukari's post. The old dreaded spike mark! Yet another reason for the USGA and R&A to repeal that idiocy! If you can repair a ball mark in your line, you should be allowed to tamp down a spike mark! Even with spikeless or soft spike shoes, I've played behind groups that left a green looking like a rhino ran across it!

Edited by Buckeyebowman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, Yukari said:

I just saw the video.  Wasn't there a similar controversy for a foreign player where many people thought she purposely moved it to a side to - perhaps avoid a spike mark? I thought she was DQ'd for that (I may be wrong).

If the other player was indeed DQ'd (I'll have to search the internet), then Lexi got off a lot easier IMHO.  Not commenting on whether the rule is fair or not, just saying.

The rule changed in 2016, it's only a two stroke penalty on top of the two strokes for replacing the ball in the wrong spot.  If this were 2015 she would have been DQ'ed.

Edited by 26point2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There needs to be statute on replays. Just like the NFL can't change a play after the next play starts, golf scores should not be subject to change once the next round starts. Something along those lines. This is ridiculous. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, dennyjones said:

Lexi birdied the last hole.  Play-off..

I hope she pulls this off. What a comeback from adversity. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17 minutes ago, Yukari said:

I just saw the video.  Wasn't there a similar controversy for a foreign player where many people thought she purposely moved it to a side to - perhaps avoid a spike mark? I thought she was DQ'd for that (I may be wrong).

If the other player was indeed DQ'd (I'll have to search the internet), then Lexi got off a lot easier IMHO.  Not commenting on whether the rule is fair or not, just saying.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A four shot penalty for moving a ball one inch, costing a woman a major championship ... golf, you don't look good right now, not good at all. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2020 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Damn you Guys! I’ve played 5 rounds so far this year, and have had 4 birdies, but none on my home course...   But then, I’m not anywhere near as good at this silly game as you are!  😑
    • Despite the high of 45 degrees today, my brother and I decided to play. He hasn’t played in a while, but he wanted to play the whites with me. Neither of us had a great front nine. I played okay except for one hole. Standing in the ninth fairway with a solid chance to walk away with a bird (which would give me a 46), I proceeded to rope-hook my second OB, then slice two straight 5W shots. I normally don’t spray it like that, so I was thinking, “Where on earth is this coming from??”. Ended up taking 9 on the hole for a 51. He shot a 63, which is pretty good for him. On the back, we lost some of the feeling in our hands. It definitely showed. I shot 55 for a 106 🤮. He shot the worst nine holes I’ve ever seen him play. Apart from the par-3 twelfth (he made a 5), he didn’t have anything better than an eight. Final score for him: 80 on the back for a 143 total. I had only one par on the day (a poor approach, at best, on 12, two-putt from ~60 feet).  Long Game: C. Overall good contact apart from the three shots I mentioned above, but hit just under half the fairways. It’s probably alignment. Mid Game: D. More than a handful of fat shots, which is not normal for me. Most of my mishits are thin. Really poor club selection. -Short Game: B-. Chipping was actually decent, just not quite getting within 6’. Most of my chips today were probably 10-15 feet from cup. Putting: B. Exactly 36 today. Definitely not the best it’s been, but had a bunch of two-putts, two three-putts and two one-putts. Recovery: C-. Did have some good recoveries, but more bad ones, most likely distance control.
    • So your club is full of insecure LOSERS/TOOLS?😂 Who do I make my initiation check to?
    • My husband thinks it is the culture of the club. Most have their own group already and don’t want to play with anyone else.  What’s weird is that there are 4 people (current coach, 2 ex-coach, 1 club pro) who knows my handicap and that I have been working on improving my driver specifically.   All of them, at one point or another, told me that if I hit any further with my driver, no one will want to play with me! Huh?!
    • It's a shame that you need "permission' to play in another group...especially a golfer who is a single cap and a fast player ....doesn't sound like your club is very friendly. I would think at most clubs...that a female golfer with a single cap would be a popular player to be paired up with. I use to play in a casual golf league here. There use to be 3 separate Korean female golfers...my friend and I got to know them and played often with them outside the league. 2 of the ladies shot 100+ and the other was about a 9 or 10 cap with broken English. Many guys in the league would be asking the league coordinator if they could be paired up with these ladies....no one cared if they shot 80 or 110.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. casamarina
      casamarina
      (63 years old)
    2. Coach crabb
      Coach crabb
      (53 years old)
    3. jaxxes
      jaxxes
      (29 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...