Jump to content
nevets88

Blown leaf alters putt, you can replay?

24 posts in this topic Last Reply

Recommended Posts

I posted the misfortune that fell upon a Web.com player, just learned that it is within the rules to replay the putt. If this is the case, nice to know. Rule 19.1.b.

Update: Now I'm wondering, to add insult to injury, if he didn't replay, is that a penalty? And why is a worm, insect or the like an exception? Ugh, RoG gives me a headache.

Quote

If a player’s ball in motion after a stroke on the putting green is
deflected or stopped by, or comes to rest in or on, any moving
or animate outside agency, except a worm, insect or the like, the
stroke is canceled. The ball must be replaced and replayed.

 

This is what happened:

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Sign up (or log in) today! It's free (and you won't see this ad anymore)!

Otherwise he played from a wrong place.

Oh, yeah: http://www.golf.com/tour-news/2017/09/24/pro-golfers-ball-hit-blowing-leaf-leads-four-stroke-penalty .

And cue the people who think this is unfair, and all that's wrong with golf, and what keeps people from playing, and so on and so on…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm surprised he didn't at least ponder if there was a rule on that. I didn't know but had it happened to me I definitely would've asked my partner or someone there, 'hey is there a rule about this?' Certainly shows how it pays to know the rules. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 hours ago, nevets88 said:

And why is a worm, insect or the like an exception?

I'm curious to that as well. A june bug comes and smacks into your moving ball, seems just as a leaf blowing as well.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This is why you learn the rules. This would have been a huge advantage for him, both in getting the stroke back, and he already got to see a putt on his exact line. Sometimes (actually, often) the rules can work to your advantage!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

As has been pointed out elsewhere, the rule itself is designed so that you are not disadvantaged if your stroke from the green is knocked off course by something moving into your line of putt.

See 19-1/7
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, Groucho Valentine said:

Never thought he would have had to replay. Just assumed that would have been a rub of the green thing. 

It is in fact a rub of the green, which is defined in the Rules of Golf not as "bad luck" but as, quite literally:

Screen Shot 2017-09-27 at 8.36.09 AM.png

So it is a "rub of the green" thing, but in this case, because the stroke was made from the putting green, you're required to replay.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Funny thing is I was wondering about that when you first posted this and I was confused.  When this happened to Phil during the Master's a few years ago it was important to note the seed thing shot in and landed on the ground in front of his ball causing it to deflect.  It did not hit the ball. 

So much to know about the rules... and then to know them well enough to make a ruling and be confident about it.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 minutes ago, todgot said:

Funny thing is I was wondering about that when you first posted this and I was confused.  When this happened to Phil during the Master's a few years ago it was important to note the seed thing shot in and landed on the ground in front of his ball causing it to deflect.  It did not hit the ball. 

Yeah, Phil's thing wasn't moving. It was sitting still on the green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 9/27/2017 at 8:36 AM, iacas said:

It is in fact a rub of the green, which is defined in the Rules of Golf not as "bad luck" but as, quite literally:

Screen Shot 2017-09-27 at 8.36.09 AM.png

So it is a "rub of the green" thing, but in this case, because the stroke was made from the putting green, you're required to replay.

How about if the deflection left the ball closer to the hole than the golfer might have expected. Are they still "required" to replay the stroke?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, Buckeyebowman said:

How about if the deflection left the ball closer to the hole than the golfer might have expected. Are they still "required" to replay the stroke?

Yep, that's what "the ball must be replaced and replayed" means.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On ‎09‎/‎25‎/‎2017 at 6:05 AM, DeadMan said:

This is why you learn the rules. This would have been a huge advantage for him, both in getting the stroke back, and he already got to see a putt on his exact line. Sometimes (actually, often) the rules can work to your advantage!

There are a lot of golf rules to learn but I'm trying

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If a blowing leaf has a rule, what about a gust of wind by itself blowing a putt of course?

In the past I have had blowing leaves cause me an extra putt. I didn't really look at the leaf being the problem. I just figured it was the wind, that powered the leaf, that knocked my putt off line.  

Probably time I look at the rule book again. :-P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Patch said:

If a blowing leaf has a rule, what about a gust of wind by itself blowing a putt of course?

Nope.

Wind is not an outside agency.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2017 TST Partners

    Talamore Golf Resort
    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
    Mission Belt
    Snell Golf
    Frogger Golf
    PitchFix USA
  • Posts

    • Sorry for the long intro/explanations... I've been Playing Golf for: 40+ yrs…not continuously unfortunately…had a cut-off 9 iron put in my hand at 6...played junior golf then on the high school team…picked it up again mid 80’s to mid 90’s (best index was about 4.5) then sporadically up to about 5 yrs back…just picked it back up seriously a few months back and have played maybe 8 times but doing lots-o-practicing…put a practice net in the garage (didn’t know balls go through wall board so easily) and taking lots of video to see what is, or isn't, happening
      My current handicap index or average score is: my best calculated index so far is 9.9
      My typical ball flight is: always been a low ball hitter…if my drives are high its because they went off the top ;) Driver, if hit well, usually 270-ish, 4 wood 240-ish
      The shot I hate or the "miss" I'm trying to reduce/eliminate is:  hitting thin (unless its miles fat)…coming up and/or not staying down-through the shot…more often now, as I’m not quite as flexible as I once was and being 6‘3“ does not help…though I don’t and never had a full “parallel at the top” back swing, even playing hardball through college coaches asked why my swing didn’t start back like everyone else, though they never complained about the outcomes. (those low inside pitches were heaven) I sometimes line up open which seems to restrict the backswing and results in thinning and/or blocking out...when I close it up seems to get better...or so I think. Been finding that if I stand too upright my upper body raises up on the backswing top then comes down at impact, often resulting in hitting fat…concerted focusing on the ball usually keeps the head movement to a minimum and really helps. Never had an official lesson…primarily dad’s mentoring. Going through lots of swing thoughts, prolly the usual stuff...most help most of the time... Here are two videos of hitting my 4 wood well...sorry if they aren't the best but plan to post better next time I’m out at the range.
      Thanks for all comments...
      Tom Videos:  
    • This is one thing I rarely see tackled by my Youtube lesson guys like Mark Crossfield. How much contact with the grip do you maintain with the grip in your swing?   Not so much interested in grip pressure.  We all hear of gripping too tightly and having no feel, and too loose no control. Also not talking about grips such as strong or weak.  But actually how your hands dynamically interact with the grip in the swing.     I started paying attention to this when I noticed I would sort of let the club roll in my hands on big full swings. It led me to change my cocked wrist into more of a straight wrist on takeaway and improved my swing.  After playing yesterday I noticed I still let it roll a lil bit. One swing I tried staying "connected" with the club the whole time and hit a pull. My buddy plays off a 4 handicap and the club moves quite a bit in his hands where at the end his R index finger (trail arm for a R handed golfer) almost comes off the club entirely.  I've also seen pro's where the club is literally like an extension of their hands without any movement between their hands and grip from start to finish.  I mean its all the delivery that affects your golf shots and if you have a consistent change in grip in your hands it shouldn't matter if its repeatable, right?  Or is maintaining a connected grip from start to finish something we should all strive for?  And how do you all think this changes with different types of shots from drives to chips to putts?  
    • 1/15/17: Worked on my path drill with water bottles before work this morning. Did my short swing to 1/4 swing to 1/2 swing to 3/4 swing progression with my 6-iron. Did this four or five times. Increasing my speed through each set until I got to full speed. I am getting to the point where I may only catch the bottle once or twice per session. Usually I start from the set over from short swing and do it a couple times until I'm comfortable with moving to a longer swing... Golf is hard.
    • I have a cycleops spin bike in my living room. I use it everyday. It is convenient having it at home. Got home  at 1:00 am after a 7 hour drive. Did a 30 min spin workout, showered, drank a protein shake, then went to bed. I got to sleep in. 
  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. MrTom
      MrTom
      (34 years old)
  • Get Great Gear with Amazon

×

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...