Jump to content
mvmac

How to "Flight" Your Wedges and Short Irons

257 posts / 68428 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

Many who have played with me or worked with me will have heard me tell them that I almost never hit a full shot within about 165 yards. Distance and trajectory control are so important. Whether it's taking a 6-iron from 160 or an 8-iron from 130, the same principles apply: ball slightly back of where it might normally go, shorter backswing, still-aggressive downswing, and naturally shorter follow-through.

One little piece to add: when doing this it's not as important to achieve much secondary axis tilt, and sometimes I'll feel or even actually allow my head to move slightly forward during the downswing. I'll often set up with a little more weight on my left foot as well. If you do those two things, too, you may find you don't need to alter ball position at setup at all: you alter it by moving your upper rotational center forward a bit (your head being a reference point for the URC).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Great information Mike!

Do you find yourself "flighting" your wedges more than hitting a standard wedge?

Many who have played with me or worked with me will have heard me tell them that I almost never hit a full shot within about 165 yards.

That's some good advice :whistle:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

ball slightly back of where it might normally go

What do you consider "slightly back"? 1 inch?  2 inches?  1/2 an inch?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

How much should you practice it before you use it? I play today and I was thinking of putting it in right away. I just worry that I might juice up my shots to much and go long!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Quote:

Originally Posted by krupa

What do you consider "slightly back"? 1 inch?  2 inches?  1/2 an inch?

I think Mike mentioned a ball back ...

Thanks!  I see that now.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

One little piece to add: when doing this it's not as important to achieve much secondary axis tilt, and sometimes I'll feel or even actually allow my head to move slightly forward during the downswing.

Good point.

Do you find yourself "flighting" your wedges more than hitting a standard wedge?

Yes, I rarely hit a full wedge shot. Just easier for distance control to make a 3/4 swing. Even when it comes to 8 and 9 irons I play a lot of partial, "flighted" type swings.

What do you consider "slightly back"? 1 inch?  2 inches?  1/2 an inch?

I like to reference ball position by saying "one ball inside the left heel", etc. So slightly back to me is 1/2 ball to a ball. Also want to highlight that @iacas said "back of where you normally play it". So a "flighted" 8 iron will be a little forward of a "flighted" wedge.

How much should you practice it before you use it? I play today and I was thinking of putting it in right away. I just worry that I might juice up my shots to much and go long!

That's up to you, I guess until you're reasonably confident with it. It's a move that's simple to learn. I find that the gripping down part really makes the 3/4 backswing and followthrough easier.

I just worry that I might juice up my shots to much and go long!

You'll typically hit these flighted shots shorter. You're choking down and making a shorter swing.

Some golfers that struggle with Key#3 might hit them about the same distance or even a little longer at times.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Can I ask (I'm a moron so it may have been mentioned...) what is the purpose of gripping down on the club?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Can I ask (I'm a moron so it may have been mentioned...) what is the purpose of gripping down on the club?


1. Slightly reduces clubhead speed

2. You need to stand closer to the ball which equates to a steeper swing and more downward AoA

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just saw this, good example.

Can I ask (I'm a moron so it may have been mentioned...) what is the purpose of gripping down on the club?

Just helps you hit it a little lower and takes a little speed off. For me, gripping down puts me in the mindset to make a 3/4, even though you're really only gripping down a few inches.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I don't even know why I try and take a full shot with my wedge.. I'll try the 3/4 pw at the range and see how it goes.. Just so much can go wrong trying a full shot with a wedge..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I did a 3/4 8 iron yesterday over water to a green from the fairway.  I normally would do a full 9 for the shot, but tried the 3/4 8 instead.  Worked great.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think the key is, still make an aggressive downswing. If you ***** out on it because you're hitting more club, it'll lead to lol lol lol.....

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I think the key is, still make an aggressive downswing. If you ***** out on it because you're hitting more club, it'll lead to lol lol lol.....

This.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Let's first look at a full swing with a wedge.

Feel ain't feel.

Feel ain't feel?  Is this a typo Mike?  I have read, on these pages, that 'feel ain't real', so gotta wonder.

Express my props for a good and useful thread. thnx.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Feel ain't feel?  Is this a typo Mike?  I have read, on these pages, that 'feel ain't real', so gotta wonder.

Express my props for a good and useful thread. thnx.

Not a typo.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Hoping there are a few people here who are using Game Golf Live, and can advise, as I was getting well frustrated on the course yesterday.  I am still fairly new to using Game Golf, got it gifted 6 months ago, but only now been playing with it Anyway, on the course yesterday, just could not get it to work stable.  Switched on the Game GPS Unit, it started flashing, then bleeped, white light flashing then paired it with the game golf app on the phone.  It showed my location, so thought off we go .... tag'd my first club the GPS Puck, flashed and vibrated, briefly saw the app show 1 shot, before it went back to 0 ..... took my shot anyway, go to the next shot, again, showed my location, tag'd my club, again same vibrate .. but still no register showing on the phone.  Checked the GPS unit, their seemed to be no lights on, however, it was still registering my location At this point, I ended the round, quit the app, switched off the puck, and then tried to reconnect it all again .... it seemed to go through the same as above ... at this point, got annoyed and switched it off for the round, as it was to distracting So, just wondered, what process / order do people use to get their Game Golf connected correctly.  Do you switch on the puck first, the app .. .what order is this done in
    • So, yesterday I played my par-3s in even, par-5s in one under, and averaged 4.5 on par-4s ... and no sixes.  Anywhere.  Or worse.  First time I've done that. Check it out, my scorecard from yesterday (Nov 16, 2019). f   This was from the blue tees at Encino golf course in L.A..  The second line is where I put notes for later:  G (GIR) or N (near-GIR).  I on occasion make other notations (S: I hit sand, A: got to the green as planned but not in either category;  F: messed up the hole)  I don't do this during tournaments of course.  Just saying it here because it's in the picture. In case the challenge has any such restrictions, I played blue tees which are 70.1 / 114 / 6574 yards.  No mulligans, played with friends in a skins/modified fourball type casual round.  I did accept a few very short conceded putts (none over about a foot).  I believe it qualifies for the challenge.   And I was fully aware of where I stood, score-wise and challenge wise, when I hit my second shot at #16.  So I played the last 11 strokes knowing I had a good round going and a chance to finish the "no sixes" challenge, with a par-5 waiting for me at the end.  I hit a good drive, a great 4-wood, and pitched on from 75 yards with a 9-iron (half swing).  Almost made the putt for a 75 too   76 beats my previous best score of all time by one (that 77 had two sixes on it... but also three birdies).  I get the feeling I'll have a bunch more good scores if I can produce more "no sixes" scorecards  
    • Day 9.  Hit balls for ten minutes indoors, off a mat, into a net.  6-iron.  Focused on completing the backswing.  Balls were plastic.
    • My best shot of the week was hitting a 240yd drive on a par 5 hole twice! No winter roll, no downhill/wind, no cartpath. Just hit it perfectly with a slight draw to the middle of the fairway - ended up with a birdie on that hole both times!
    • Mayakoba Update: Actual events have me standing corrected on the imagined alternative finish as suggested in the preceding post. The reduced field of the alternative scenario most definitely would have finished the 3rd and 4th rounds in one day -- a most important thing to know, if -ANY- type of change is to be made to the actual Low-65 cut rules.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dale J
      Dale J
      (54 years old)
    2. ilikehockey
      ilikehockey
      (29 years old)
    3. Jack 9211
      Jack 9211
      (66 years old)
    4. NatalieB
      NatalieB
      (17 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...