IGNORED

How old is too old?- Driver question

golfncowboy
Note: This thread is 2958 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I have been playing a Titleist 909 d2 driver for just shy of 6 years. I was fit for it and still hit it well, I would say driving accuracy is a strong suit in my game, but have been wondering if it might be worth upgrading this year. As far as distance goes I'd say I'm not long average carry is about 245-250 and would like to pick up a few more yards. I know you can't buy distance but sometimes the improvements in tech over a period of time can make a difference. Has tech come far enough since 2010 to make a difference?

1 minute ago, golfncowboy said:

I have been playing a Titleist 909 d2 driver for just shy of 6 years. I was fit for it and still hit it well, I would say driving accuracy is a strong suit in my game, but have been wondering if it might be worth upgrading this year. As far as distance goes I'd say I'm not long average carry is about 245-250 and would like to pick up a few more yards. I know you can't buy distance but sometimes the improvements in tech over a period of time can make a difference. Has tech come far enough since 2010 to make a difference?

That really depends on how well your current driver fits you. The newer heads have better tech for optimizing spin rates and launch angles and a little more forgiveness but if you already get close to ideal numbers from your current head you may only see a slight uptick in performance.

:callaway: Big Bertha Alpha 815 DBD  :bridgestone: TD-03 Putter   
:tmade: 300 Tour 3W                 :true_linkswear: Motion Shoes
:titleist: 585H Hybrid                       
:tmade: TP MC irons                 
:ping: Glide 54             
:ping: Glide 58
:cleveland: 588 RTX 62

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades