Jump to content
IGNORED

Patrick Reed vs. the Rules of Golf


NM Golf

Recommended Posts

35 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

I think I was the other way around. He placed three different clubs behind the ball before deciding to hit 3W. Kostis stated ‘ that shot wouldn’t have been possible from the original lie I saw.’ Something like that.

I don’t know what Kostis said. Koepka said 3 wood, then wedge (not saying who the player was). Starting at 2:10: 

 

Edited by Missouri Swede

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

49 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

I don’t know what Kostis said. Koepka said 3 wood, then wedge (not saying who the player was). Starting at 2:10: 

 

But he said ‘ some guy’ at the US OPEN. I thought we were talking about Reed specifically.

:ping: G25 Driver Stiff :ping: G20 3W, 5W :ping: S55 4-W (aerotech steel fiber 110g shafts) :ping: Tour Wedges 50*, 54*, 58* :nike: Method Putter Floating clubs: :edel: 54* trapper wedge

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, iacas said:

No, nor have I seen it.

I think his definition needs to be determined. In a world where there should be NONE, if you see three infractions a year, is that "a lot"?

You're right. There should be none.  Three is not a lot, but it's three too many.  The question is whether Brooks thinks three is a lot. Also, is Brooks including "cheating" where there was no intent, which technically wouldn't be cheating?  I don't think Brooks should have made that statement unless he can explain exactly how he knows what he's talking about.  If you're going to cast shade, be prepared to back it up.

1 hour ago, colin007 said:
kostis-mccord.jpg

Former CBS Sports broadcaster Peter Kostis...

 

WOW!  That's amazing coming from Peter. Kostis.  I now refuse to give Patrick Reed the benefit of the doubt any longer.  I think Peter should have informed the rules officials when he saw this cheating.  I think it was his duty at the time to protect the field and not speak out now about it years later.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites


13 minutes ago, Herkimer said:

 I think Peter should have informed the rules officials when he saw this cheating.  I think it was his duty at the time to protect the field and not speak out now about it years later.  

His duty was to protect the product his company was broadcasting, which is what he was (shortsightedly) doing.

  • Thumbs Up 1

Colin P.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

43 minutes ago, colin007 said:

His duty was to protect the product his company was broadcasting, which is what he was (shortsightedly) doing.

In the NLU podcast Kostis mentions something along the lines of CBS instructing their broadcast crew to not become part of the story, implying that they were not encouraged to insert themselves in something like calling out a rules violation for a player. At least that was the gist I got.

-Peter

  • :titleist: TSR2
  • :callaway: Paradym, 4W
  • :pxg: GEN4 0317X, Hybrid
  • :srixon: ZX 3-iron, ZX5 4-AW
  • :cleveland:  RTX Zipcore 54 & 58
  • L.A.B. Golf Directed Force 2.1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17 minutes ago, Darkfrog said:

In the NLU podcast Kostis mentions something along the lines of CBS instructing their broadcast crew to not become part of the story, implying that they were not encouraged to insert themselves in something like calling out a rules violation for a player. At least that was the gist I got.

Yup. Protecting their product.

Colin P.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
48 minutes ago, Darkfrog said:

In the NLU podcast Kostis mentions something along the lines of CBS instructing their broadcast crew to not become part of the story, implying that they were not encouraged to insert themselves in something like calling out a rules violation for a player. At least that was the gist I got.

Lame.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, Darkfrog said:

In the NLU podcast Kostis mentions something along the lines of CBS instructing their broadcast crew to not become part of the story, implying that they were not encouraged to insert themselves in something like calling out a rules violation for a player. At least that was the gist I got.

But they thought nothing of showing where a ball landed in the rough when a player wasn't sure.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites


They should report what they see.

But who ever thought TV (anything) was fair and square. Peter had a great job with a really crummy organization. I don't blame him for trying to do what he's instructed.  He did what he could on a couple fronts - obviously given what happened last year.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


On 2/20/2020 at 12:30 PM, Darkfrog said:

In the NLU podcast Kostis mentions something along the lines of CBS instructing their broadcast crew to not become part of the story, implying that they were not encouraged to insert themselves in something like calling out a rules violation for a player. At least that was the gist I got.

I listened to this today, and wowsers, does he every speak the truth. What I found really interesting is that he literally laid out 4 times that he saw Reed improving his lie. He also mentioned that this is rare behavior, but that every generation has someone that does this sort of thing. I suppose we are just in the Reed era right now. He was also very forthcoming that he believed the punishment did not come close to fitting the "crime".

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Koepka has been vocal about pace of play violations and the pga not enforcing the rule.  Perhaps he considers that cheating.

And the secret colusion of leaving your ball down on the green as a backstop for another player.  Back when that was happening, that was happening quite often given that I was seeing it multiple times on the smaller sample size of what was shown on tv.  Mickelson claimed that the Lexi type move of placing her ball down a bit 'incorrectly' on the green happens often on the PGA (imo that appeared intentional).  Perhaps Koepka considers these types of things as cheating. 

For me Reed has become more entertaining, I like a villian to root against.

Edited by No Mulligans
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 2/20/2020 at 1:19 PM, iacas said:

Lame.

I have a feeling this is instructions from the PGA tour itself, handed down to each of the broadcast corporations, but that is just speculation.

1 minute ago, No Mulligans said:

Koepka has been vocal about pace of play violations and the pga not enforcing the rule.  Perhaps he considers that cheating.

And the secret colusion of leaving your ball down on the green as a backstop for another player.  Back when that was happening, that was happening quite often given that I was seeing it multiple times on the smaller sample size of what was shown on tv.  Mickelson claimed that the Lexi type move of placing her ball down a bit 'incorrectly' on the green happens often on the PGA (imo that appeared intentional).  Perhaps Koepka considers these types of things as cheating. 

Considering there is a rule for each, I'd agree with him. Granted the PoP rule is a "should" and not a "must", but the lengths to which this is pushed and abused is absurd. They should be docking strokes for slow play at every event.

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

32 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

Considering there is a rule for each, I'd agree with him. Granted the PoP rule is a "should" and not a "must", but the lengths to which this is pushed and abused is absurd. They should be docking strokes for slow play at every event.

I would agree with this sentiment. To not consider violations of the rules as cheating and penalize them accordingly, whether they be intentional or careless, undermines the entire purpose of having rules in the first place. 

As far as pace of play goes, I guarantee you the PGA Tour could play their rounds in 4.5 hours or less every single day of every single tournament if they did one thing: enforced the USGA pace of play policy using Rule 5.6a.

Spoiler

GROUP OUT OF POSITION – MONITORED BY A RULES ROVER

  • Any group that is out of position may be monitored by a Rules Rover who will individually time strokes made by a player(s).
  • Each player is permitted a maximum of 40 seconds to make a stroke. A player who exceeds 40 seconds is considered to have made a bad time.
  • Except on the putting green, the timing of a player’s stroke begins when it is the player’s turn to play without interference or distraction. Time spent determining yardage and other conditions, such as wind, will count as time taken for the stroke.
  • On the putting green, the timing of a player’s stroke begins when it is the player’s turn to play without interference or distraction and after a player has completed the actions allowed under Rule 13.1, pro- vided the player is not unreasonably delaying play. Time spent surveying the line of play from any angle will also count as time taken for the stroke.
  • Any player(s) concerned about another player(s) in the group should request a Rules Rover to monitor the group.
  • Bad times and other information gathered at any time by the Rules Committee may be used during the review process. If the group becomes liable to penalty, bad times will be considered when determining penalties.
  • Regardless of position, if the Pace of Play Committee determines that a player(s) in the group is delaying play of their own group, following groups or the com- petition in general:
    • The player(s) may be spoken to by a Rules Rover.
    • The penalty for breach of Rule 5.6a (Unreasonable Delay of Play) may be applied. [Emphasis mine]
Spoiler

a. Unreasonable Delay of Play

A player must not unreasonably delay play, either when playing a hole or between two holes.

A player may be allowed a short delay for certain reasons, such as:

  • When the player seeks help from a referee or the Committee,

  • When the player becomes injured or ill, or

  • When there is another good reason.

Penalty for Breach of Rule 5.6a:

  • Penalty for first breach: One penalty stroke.

  • Penalty for second breach: General Penalty.

  • Penalty for third breach: Disqualification.

If the player unreasonably delays play between two holes, the penalty applies to the next hole.

Players would be allowed 40 seconds per shot. Players who fail to do this will be assessed one penalty stroke on the first occurrence. The second occurrence results in a two stroke penalty (or loss of hole in match play). The third, and final, occurrence is disqualification. 

As soon as penalties are on the table and penalties are strictly and evenly enforced the slow play problem will vanish literally overnight. When playing slow means losing strokes or possible disqualification, it will cause all the slow players on tour to suddenly play at a reasonable pace like they should. The fact that the PGA hasn't done this yet is proof enough that they don't actually care about slow play, considering the penalties they have given are few and far between.

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 hour ago, Bonvivant said:

I have a feeling this is instructions from the PGA tour itself, handed down to each of the broadcast corporations, but that is just speculation.

He said it was from Chirkinian.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 11 months later...

2021 Farmers Insurance at Torrey Pines Patrick Reed is “pushing the envelope “ according to Rich Beem. It certainly looked like he was manufacturing a stance.

Stevie T

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The embedded ball routine was bogus.  His ball landed and made a deep hole, then bounced out a foot forward.  But Reed convinced the rules official that his ball was in that hole and he pulled it out before the ref got there.  TV says otherwise.  He picked up his ball, but not out of that deep hole.

Edited by Double Mocha Man
Link to comment
Share on other sites


2 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

The embedded ball routine was bogus.  His ball landed and made a deep hole, then bounced out a foot forward.  But Reed convinced the rules official that his ball was in that hole and he pulled it out before the ref got there.  TV says otherwise.  He picked up his ball, but not out of that deep hole.

One golf hole, two dubious drops.. 

Stevie T

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
17 minutes ago, Beastie said:

2021 Farmers Insurance at Torrey Pines Patrick Reed is “pushing the envelope “ according to Rich Beem. It certainly looked like he was manufacturing a stance.

Video?

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • With the testing results thus far it looks like Red Bull really just decided, "Yeah, the zero pods were actually a good idea but Mercedes is just stupid." Both Newey and GP (Max's race engineer) were grinning ear to ear as Max went out and smashed every other time on the board by nearly a full second despite not being on a qualifying simulation run.
    • Wordle 977 3/6 ⬜⬜🟩⬜⬜ 🟩🟨🟨⬜⬜ 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • DAY 3:  Swing practice in the Golf Garage (52°, PW, 7i) for 30 minutes.  A little fall off from yesterday's gaudy numbers on the shot monitor, which I'm attributing to a little fatigue in the swing.  Post-op rehab continues! ☺️
    • I know of only a few instances where players signed an incorrect score card and my gut is the vast majority of those instances were simple errors and not intentional cheating BUT these are "Pros" and they need to be held to a high standard.  If several thousands of dollars, or millions, is at stake they need to be the professionals they are and take care.  I hate it when it happens but I'll say I agree with keeping the DQ for incorrect score card submitted. AND, since I am not in favor of bifurcation on other parts of the game I'll also hold myself and other amateurs to the same standard. Oh, and I do not year Jordan complaining about the rule.  In fact he said "Rules are Rules and I take full responsibility".  Also, see Scheffler's comments near the end of the attached.  I think this debate is more about fans & the media complaining and not so much about the Professionals complaining. Following Jordan Spieth DQ, debate rages over incorrect-scorecard rule Spieth was disqualified after signing an incorrect scorecard following Round 2.      
    • A few more issues with getting rid of validating scores, and PGA Tour players doing their own scores.  1) The PGA Tour does not run all the tournaments. Example, the Masters is run by Augusta National, the PGA Championship is run by PGA of America, The US Open is run by the USGA, and The Open is run by the R&A. How do you handle these situations? What if the US Open and The Open do not want to use electronic scoring? Do you want golfers to bounce between having to keep track of their scores or not?  2) What if you are on a course where it would be difficult to have score keepers on every hole?  3) What about the Champions tour, Korn Ferry Tour, PGA Latin America, PGA Tour Canada, PGA Tour China? There are other organizations under the umbrella of the PGA Tour, that use the same rules, that probably can't have the resources to do scoring on every hole.  4) Will a score keeper be versed in the rules of golf to know how to score the correct penalty? What if they miss a penalty?  5) Would the players want to validate their scores after a round? I would.  6) People are like, well other sports have it. How many balls are in play in other sports? Football, one. Basketball, one. Baseball, one. In Golf, if you have a 120 golfer field. You could have over 8500 shots taken on the course. Are we sure the PGA Tour can accurately keep track of all those shots? What if a golfer takes 5 hacks to get out of the trees and the scorekeeper missed 3 of them?  It is much more reasonable to keep scoring as is.  I still believe the penalty should be DQ. You can't prove intent of cheating. Not signing for a correct score is worth the highest penalty.   
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...