Jump to content
IGNORED

Patrick Reed vs. the Rules of Golf


Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
4 minutes ago, colin007 said:

A grown man named "Slugger" said that him doing it a second time was irrelevant.

The same one who won't enforce pace of play penalties because someone's kid might not be able to go to college.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 529
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I just caught the entire clip of Reed walking up to the spotter and going through the entire process. Nothing looked out of the ordinary.  1. He didn't see it bounce from his shot. 2. He inquir

This is amazing. https://www.instagram.com/p/CK6fYccFPqL/  

Posted Images

  • Administrator
Just now, Asheville said:

Let's lose the made-for-tv term "waste area." 

Not a fan of it either, but people "know what you mean" when you say it, and that's the point of communication.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Let's lose the made-for-tv term "waste area." 

The area of the course where the ball lay is called the General Area.

It's Fatrick we're dealing with here, let's call it the Waist Area.

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 minutes ago, iacas said:

Not a fan of it either, but people "know what you mean" when you say it, and that's the point of communication.

Forgot this is Tour Talk. Accuracy is optional.

Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Administrator
5 minutes ago, mvmac said:

What the hell was he thinking?!

Agree you could definitely make the case he should be penalized twice.

You could, but I've come around to the idea that you'd lose that battle.

There's no intervening event that separates the act of improving the lie.

 So, two strokes is probably right.

Slugger was wrong though when he said "improving his line of play." It was improving his lie, not his line of play.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
14 hours ago, colin007 said:

A grown man named "Slugger" said that him doing it a second time was irrelevant.

Don’t you want a cool nickname that’s completely irrelevant to what your occupation is?😜

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 hours ago, iacas said:

You could, but I've come around to the idea that you'd lose that battle.

 

Slugger was wrong though when he said "improving his line of play." It was improving his lie, not his line of play.

You are both wrong. Under 8.1 he was improving "The area of the player's intended swing."

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, RemyM said:

You are both wrong. Under 8.1 he was improving "The area of the player's intended swing."

Little bit of both, ain’t it? If I’m in 1” high rough and pull out a 2” high tee and put my ball on that (essentially what’s happening when you remove sand from directly behind the ball is you’re “teeing it up”) aren’t I improving both my lie and my swing path?


Ive sort of defended Reed in the past, but awfully hard to take in all of the evidence here (including his comments after, and including the other older video) and not lean towards the conclusion that he’s intentionally cheating.

Edited by Golfingdad
  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

40 minutes ago, Golfingdad said:

Little bit of both, ain’t it? If I’m in 1” high rough and pull out a 2” high tee and put my ball on that (essentially what’s happening when you remove sand from directly behind the ball is you’re “teeing it up”) aren’t I improving both my lie and my swing path?


 

He didn't touch his ball.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
55 minutes ago, RemyM said:

He didn't touch his ball.

The lie is more than the ball.

Your point is taken because it’s the spot on which the ball lies by definition but colloquially “spot” is the area immediately around the ball. Nobody whose ball is sitting down in Bermuda grass says “my lie is great but my area of swing is bad.”

He breached the rule. That much is clear.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Upon first hearing about this, I wondered what all the fuss was about.  I thought maybe he accidentally flicked some sand; but upon watching the clips above, it appears that Patrick was trying to casually dig a trench behind the ball!  

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, ncates00 said:

Upon first hearing about this, I wondered what all the fuss was about.  I thought maybe he accidentally flicked some sand; but upon watching the clips above, it appears that Patrick was trying to casually dig a trench behind the ball!  

Perhaps he should swap one of his wedges for a shovel. 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • iacas changed the title to Patrick Reed vs. the Rules of Golf

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...