IGNORED

Does Not Getting Fit Affect Play?

Note: This thread is 1813 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hey guys,

I have been playing for about 6 years now, see my swing here - MY SWING

Ever since last summer when I bought new irons off of ebay (did not get fit) I just can't hit them. They skid across the ground or if they do get air they go straight right. With my driver and hybrid I am not having any issues and can hit straight and long. Does not getting fit have that drastic of a difference that you will see horrible shots like this?

The right shaft is so important - Getting fits helps immensely.  I suspect the converse is true.  (if you find a competent fitting anyway, not just the sales job type at the outlets).  It's night vs day with my latest fittings (woods and hybrids), so there's one data point.

Bill - 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If golf was played with one club...it would still make a difference, to an individual, which one club that was.  Sure...we could get accustom to anything...but we would find that we liked this one better than that one et cetera.  Switch to multiple clubs and the difference is greater.  Now our clubs have to work in concert with each other.  A wedge that suits one set of irons may feel odd when paired with another set.  The same is true for drivers, fairways, and hybrids.  So yeah...fitting does matter.  

P.S.  Learning to use what you have matters more.  A good guitar player can make just about anything sound decent.  And they will have a much better understanding of what they like, and don't like, about a particular instrument.  That allows them to make more informed decisions when it comes to equipment changes and/or acquisitions.

In der bag: