This is interesting and good info. So not only can you move it before the player's stroke, you can move it after they strike the ball! You could trick a player into taking what looks like an advantage, altering their strategy, and then pick up the stick before the ball gets there, and watch the ball run on by. Captital!
Here’s one of my stories from last year’s practice. We were doing a closest to the hole challenge on the practice green, with four or five of us. Closest got a point, and at the end, the winner did no pushups, and everyone else did ten pushups per point they lost by. In the middle of the game, one of my teammates picked a chip that was about 40 feet, sloping gently from right to left. My coach came up to me and said, “Just go ahead and make this. I want these guys to do pushups.” Just seconds later, my ball dropped in. Nobody else chipped in, so I got the point. I think I had 20 pushups at the end.
Yes you may.
Rule 11.3 applies...
When a ball is in motion, a player must not deliberately take any of these actions to affect where that ball (whether the player’s own ball or another player’s ball) might come to rest:
• Alter physical conditions by taking any of the actions listed in Rule 8.1a (such as replacing a divot or pressing down a raised area of turf), or
• Lift or move:
» A loose impediment (see Rule 15.1a, Exception 2), or
» A movable obstruction (see Rule 15.2a, Exception 2)
Exception – Moving Flagstick, Ball at Rest on Putting Green and Other Player Equipment: This Rule does not prohibit a player from lifting or moving:
• A removed flagstick,