Jump to content
Check out the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
IGNORED

Hole-in-one? Or easy birdie? Would you count it?


Note: This thread is 3996 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

0  

  1. 1. Hole-in-one? Or easy birdie? Would you count it?

    • Count it. That's an ace.
      3
    • Easy birdie, assuming I make the putt.
      22
    • I'd probably 3-putt.
      3


Recommended Posts

Posted

I posted this on our Facebook page yesterday and it generated some good discussion. Thought I'd do the same here.

Assuming this is your first shot on a par-3, is it a hole-in-one? Or an easy birdie?

Will W


Posted

It's a bird as it's shown in the picture. As I understand it, the golfer who hits a shot like this, has a reasonable amount of time to to get to the ball, and can then wait another 10 seconds to see if the balls falls in on it's own. After that final 10 seconds, it's a tap in.

I have always believed that ball was not in the hole unless it was resting on the bottom of the hole.

I suspect the damage to the hole could take a little longer.

In My Bag:
A whole bunch of Tour Edge golf stuff...... :beer:

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Based on my understanding of the rules, the ball needs to be below the ground to count.   Since part of it is sticking up above the ground, it would not be a hole-in-one.   But someone who better knows the rules can chime in.   I'd probably call the pro shop on this one if it happened during a round.   Or ask afterward before posting the score.

—Adam

 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
I would like to think it is a hole in one.. I can see why it would be a tap in since it is not in the bottom of the cup! I would be happy with either ;)

:adams: / :tmade: / :edel: / :aimpoint: / :ecco: / :bushnell: / :gamegolf: / 

Eyad

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
Posted
I would like to think it is a hole in one.. I can see why it would be a tap in since it is not in the bottom of the cup! I would be happy with either ;)

It's not in the cup. This would be no different than a ball resting on the lip.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
It's not in the cup. This would be no different than a ball resting on the lip.

I know I know :) I did say I would "like" to think.. I didn't say I think it is. Just so damn close and unfortunate for who ever hit it!

:adams: / :tmade: / :edel: / :aimpoint: / :ecco: / :bushnell: / :gamegolf: / 

Eyad

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Birdie.  It has its own specific rule: http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-16/#d16-3

  • Upvote 1
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Heartbreaker, but it's a birdie.

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Birdie.  It has its own specific rule: http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-16/#d16-3

nice, I was going to ask if the hole liner was buried too deep in the OP's scenario, and your link also had a comment about that too.....

Bill - 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

It stayed there longer than 10 seconds. Pick it up and add one stroke. Birdie.

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

By rule, it's a birdie - IF he makes the putt. ;-)

Rick

"He who has the fastest cart will never have a bad lie."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

By rule, it's a birdie - IF he makes the putt.

Are you sure?  It looks like its entirely possible that after the hole is repaired and he goes to place it, it'll just fall into the hole.  In which case: http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-16/#d16-2-0.5 would apply, yes?

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Aside from hitting the ball away from the hole on purpose, has anyone putting toward the hole ever missed a putt where the ball is overhanging the lip of the hole?

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fourputt

By rule, it's a birdie - IF he makes the putt.

Are you sure?  It looks like its entirely possible that after the hole is repaired and he goes to place it, it'll just fall into the hole.  In which case: http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-16/#d16-2-0.5 would apply, yes?

A hole in one plus a penalty stroke is still only a birdie.

:callaway: Big Bertha Alpha 815 DBD  :bridgestone: TD-03 Putter   
:tmade: 300 Tour 3W                 :true_linkswear: Motion Shoes
:titleist: 585H Hybrid                       
:tmade: TP MC irons                 
:ping: Glide 54             
:ping: Glide 58
:cleveland: 588 RTX 62

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted
Are you sure?  It looks like its entirely possible that after the hole is repaired and he goes to place it, it'll just fall into the hole.  In which case: [URL=http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-16/#d16-2-0.5]http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Decision-16/#d16-2-0.5[/URL] would apply, yes?

But it's still a birdie. An ace with a penalty stroke. As for the incident when the opponent knocks it away in a match, the hole is WON but not counted as an ace. it still would be a birdie and a win, even if the opponent birdies the hole...


Note: This thread is 3996 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.