Jump to content
CarlSpackler

Post Your "Death Shot" with Pics/Video

104 posts / 6287 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

On 4/9/2017 at 3:18 PM, billchao said:

Had this shot this morning:392017151424.jpg

One of my playing partners asked how you're even supposed to play that shot and I responded, "Just slam the clubhead hard into bank and hope you don't hurt yourself." Managed to just pop it onto the green.

WOW! That looks brutal. Years and years ago, while playing somewhere in Chicagoland I had a ball end up very much like that. I tried to slam it out but ended up driving it deep... I mean DEEP under the grass, never to be seen again. As far as I know that ball is still under there. 

 

The story continued from there. Since I was lying 2, literally under the turf I took an unplayable lie. I didn't retrieve the old ball. I just tried to drop a new one in the bunker one club-length away. Do to the slope I ended up having to place it. Things kind of went off the rails from there. When it was all said and done I ended up making an 11 on that par-3. My buddies and I called it my "Spinal Tap" hole...  "This par three goes to eleven".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

20 minutes ago, iacas said:

Why one club length?

Because one of the guys I was playing with told me that was the rule for an unplayable lie. "You only get one club length... and it has to be the club you are going to hit."  That's what he told me and I didn't know any better so.... 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Number 10 at Cobblestone in Acworth, GA.

I was seemingly dead, under a tree, nearly 170 yards, and with an ocean of sand between me and the green.  I played a punch shot with a five iron, which came off exactly as I envisioned it, but only better.  I was simply hoping to get close enough to the green to play a standard bunker shot, take my bogey, and move on.  Instead, the ball came out low, and then started to rise like the shot Kenny Lee hits in Dead Solid Perfect.  It reached its apex, and then dropped onto the green to give me a decent shot at a birdie.  Missed the birdie, but I made the par, which was one of only a very few bright spots on the day.

Cobblestone 10.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 5/27/2020 at 5:06 AM, Vinsk said:

#9 Par 4 at my course. Pulled my drive ( I’m left handed) and was in jail to the right. Smoked a gap wedge with a huge hook and a left to right wind to pull this shot off. Saved par.4901E8B5-1690-4E9D-B494-57772A546386.thumb.jpeg.c3c765cd32481f926057ad9c065f56d8.jpeg

Did you manage to avoid the unleashed dog?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

Because one of the guys I was playing with told me that was the rule for an unplayable lie. "You only get one club length... and it has to be the club you are going to hit."  That's what he told me and I didn't know any better so.... 

Learn the rules my man.

Two club lengths (and basically, your driver).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

Learn the rules my man.

Two club lengths (and basically, your driver).

I know that now. But at the time... 

Anyway, that may not have been the only 11 I've ever made. But, I'm pretty sure it's the only 11 I ever made on a par 3. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

32 minutes ago, ChetlovesMer said:

Because one of the guys I was playing with told me that was the rule for an unplayable lie. "You only get one club length... and it has to be the club you are going to hit."  That's what he told me and I didn't know any better so.... 

Were you playing him for money? 😜

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, billchao said:

Were you playing him for money? 😜

Ha ha, no. He was just one of those golf no it all's. I'm sure he told me lots of other shit that was wrong, but this is the only one I remember. 

This was back in the day before we all had the internet in our pocket. Today, I could easily look up the rule. Back then, not so much. 

It was all worth it though, because we got to coin the phrase "Spinal Tap" hole. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Now you can take 2 strokes and drop outside the bunker on a straight line back from the hole. It would have been nice to have that one back in the day.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This one was fun yesterday:

Me in the Weeds.jpg

Credit to @Braivo for taking the picture. That's @klineka and @iacas on the green pointing and laughing at me for being in jail, with @Hardspoon off to the right.

Here's my lie:

Lie in the Weeds.jpeg

I swung hard (too hard) and caught the ball cleaner than I thought I would, but the grass grabbed the hosel and shut the clubface so I ended up pulling it well left and over the green. Hit a pitch from there that landed right in the middle of the green and almost rolled back into the weeds again. Good times.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, billchao said:

Credit to @Braivo for taking the picture. That's @klineka and @iacas on the green pointing and laughing at me for being in jail, with @Hardspoon off to the right.

@Divot Master and I were on the next tee having a good chuckle at your expense too. Karma bit me in the ole butt and handed me a quadruple on that hole though. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

57 minutes ago, CarlSpackler said:

@Divot Master and I were on the next tee having a good chuckle at your expense too. Karma bit me in the ole butt and handed me a quadruple on that hole though. 

Fortunately you can only post net double. 🙂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, iacas said:

Fortunately you can only post net double. 🙂

Yes, for handicap purposes. What really hurts is the drop I took. As we were driving to the hole, I noticed some divots to the left of the green tee box, so I dropped there assuming that to be the drop area and thinned a 9i under the tree behind the green. When we drove to the green I see this white circle with a drop area sign behind the green that was nothing more than a long chip or really short pitch.

homer simpson doh GIF

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I can probably reply in this topic every round I play, TBH. Here’s today’s gem:

76F1F81F-C3C6-48A1-BD5D-676ABAFB2069.jpeg
 

Can’t go for it because the overhanging limbs prevented me from hitting a shot more than 10’ in the air. I half-thought about  hitting a punch shot that lands just on the green and rolls off the back of it, but here’s another look at the lie:

E64700C4-6969-4209-82C2-AFCB4B334692.jpeg
 

I chipped it left back towards the fairway.

87E76FA8-2889-4668-B8D0-965EF38D3392.jpeg

In hindsight I probably should have chipped it away from the hole instead of towards the hole because I almost put it in the pond and got lucky that the ball ended up in some shorter stuff in the fescue.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, billchao said:

I can probably reply in this topic every round I play, TBH. Here’s today’s gem:

76F1F81F-C3C6-48A1-BD5D-676ABAFB2069.jpeg
 

Can’t go for it because the overhanging limbs prevented me from hitting a shot more than 10’ in the air. I half-thought about  hitting a punch shot that lands just on the green and rolls off the back of it, but here’s another look at the lie:

E64700C4-6969-4209-82C2-AFCB4B334692.jpeg
 

I chipped it left back towards the fairway.

87E76FA8-2889-4668-B8D0-965EF38D3392.jpeg

In hindsight I probably should have chipped it away from the hole instead of towards the hole because I almost put it in the pond and got lucky that the ball ended up in some shorter stuff in the fescue.

Bill’s WITB:

F645D9DF-7998-4A28-B374-387E694593C9.thumb.jpeg.40d91e6009c4df3051514f080ed78f30.jpeg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This was a good one from Sunday's round.  The course had a windstorm during the week that broke off hundreds (!) of trees.  You can see the flag left-center of the photo.  

IMG_1080.JPG

I went for it...why the heck not.  Tried to punch a 5-iron through the "window"...ended up catching one of the overhanging limbs and dropping down about 10' later.  Fortunately clear of the trouble, so I was able to hit onto the green with my next shot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • Thank you, I appreciate it! Yeah I think my handicap is probably a bit lower than 14, but because I wasn't able to get out much last year I didn't want to over estimate my handicap. So far this year I would say I am closer to a 10. My scoring goal for this year to play a full round in the 70s
    • Many days I would walk at or around 90 deg., but mid-90s is to high. I would plan on a 9-holer, ride, or wait until evening to go out.
    • I think it's realistic, not exaggerated. We already know other players out there are impressed by what he's doing but I'm not buying it that they are gonna all go off and chase distance in the way that Bryson is. We might see some guys like Molinari/Fowler make some swing changes to hit it a bit further but I'll go on the record right now saying you ain't gonna see no one else put in the work that Bryson has, no one else is going to transform their body to handle them swinging literally as hard as they possible can. It's too risky and most people don't have the drive that Bryson does. Disagree. We've already had people such as Rory come out and say that they feel their best when they are "lighter". 10-20 years down the road we are absolutely NOT going to see the average weight on tour being 240lbs of lean-ish muscle mass and everyone swinging out of their shoes. We'll see how the rest of the year goes but I really don't see junior coaches convincing kids parents that because ONE dude on Tour (who by the way literally plays the game differently than anyone else) is the blueprint to follow and they have to start gaining mass now and eating 6-8k calories a day to get a Division 1 scholorship. Too much for me...way too much.
    • Yeah, so I've been doing a bunch of takeaway work over the past week or so to A2 to try and fix the overly bent RIGHT arm that occurs very early on in the backswing. You'll notice this in my somewhat recent video with the sand wedge. I'm 99% sure what is going on there is that my chest and arms are disconnected and instead of turning a good bit with the chest/torso I'm really pulling the club back with like 95% arms. I compared this view at A2 to a bunch of professionals and nobody had anywhere near the amount of flex I did with the right arm at this point. As you noted before, I do get a pretty good turn, but I think it happens somewhat later than it should. To tie this in with what you mentioned, when a disconnect like that exists you essentially don't give your left arm the space it needs to continue to freely turn and instead the bicep of that arm ends up pressing into the left pectoral area which causes the breakdown of the left elbow. I think continuing to work on my takeaway to A2 (I might actually start focusing on taking these practice takeaways to A3) and working on the connection between the torso and arms early on is exactly what I need to remedy this. Thanks for the input. It really helps me affirm that I'm working on the right things (along with my work on not early extending).
    • But $12 extra to ride. That's almost as brutal as the heat.  Either I need to get tougher or the weather needs to get cooler. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Daniel-J
      Daniel-J
      (30 years old)
    2. internal911
      internal911
      (40 years old)
    3. ipadair
      ipadair
      (9 years old)
    4. jwsmith6
      jwsmith6
      (32 years old)
    5. nigel
      nigel
      (62 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...