IGNORED

Musicians who golf

Jack Watson
Note: This thread is 2428 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

I am a big reader ok?  Online I see many people who play an instrument who proclaim to play decent golf,  say 8 handi or below.  Often,  they talk about things like rhythm and tempo and that seems to me to be fundamental in music.

Any people here who play music feel free to chime in.

I have never played any instrument and was curious about musicians and golf.  If there are musicians here,  did you relate learning an instrument to learning golf?  Thread is open to any concepts relating timing and golf.

Imo I think there's something to relating timing and swinging a club but clearly,  you can see my handi so...Post on people,  please!

This is near and dear to my heart as I am an instrumental music teacher and also our high school golf coach. I have played trumpet for a long time and play currently in a number of groups ranging from orchestral, band, commercial, and jazz. Most of the kids over the past 10 years I've had on the team have been current or former band students, though a lot of that is more related to having a good relationship with the kids. 

I can say being a musician in golf really helps because musicians can only count to 4 so it helps the scorecard, many songs are in 3 or even in two, but rarely in 6 :)