Jump to content
IGNORED

Question on Lost Ball Inbounds


aguynamededdy
 Share

Note: This thread is 1141 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Just now, DDBowdoin said:

While I generally agree with you at roughly 99%, there is 1% of me that has some followed some low PGA tour players who spread the ball EVERYWHERE and have marshalls finding balls.

We have saying over here, "Why have a dog and bark yourself" :-D

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

If you know or are virtually certain that your ball has been stolen simply replace it. No penalty.

Just so people know, lack of evidence does not validate virtual certainty. Meaning, a golfer can't claim a ball was taken by someone just because it's not were they expect it to be.

Quote

Note: It is a question of fact whether a ball has been moved by an outside agency. In order to apply this Rule, it must be known or virtually certain that an outside agency has moved the ball. In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, the player must play the ball as it lies or, if the ball is not found, proceed under Rule 27-1.

I would say, 99% of the time, there isn't a virtual certainty that the ball was stolen or moved by an outside agency. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

28 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

Just so people know, lack of evidence does not validate virtual certainty. Meaning, a golfer can't claim a ball was taken by someone just because it's not were they expect it to be.

I would say, 99% of the time, there isn't a virtual certainty that the ball was stolen or moved by an outside agency. 

I'd agree with this... of the countless times I assumed it happened I've only seen two or three people straight up pick my ball up from the tee as they walked into my hole.  It happens all the time because I see people picking up balls or yelling over to a buddy "hey man, did you hit a Callaway with a blue dot? No? Ok, I'm just going to pick this one up".

Link to comment
Share on other sites


17 hours ago, aguynamededdy said:

Amateurs don't have the luxury of thousands of spectators and countless marshal's to help locate a ball. Do you think there should be a rule that provides relief for us amateurs when we hit the ball just off the fairway but can't find it in the rough? That's the one thing I think is incredibly unfair in regards to how lucky the tour pros are to have so many people at their disposal dedicated to tracking their shot.

Nope...not to be an ass, but take some time to get some control with your driver...I have spent countless hours at the range for the purpose of hitting a controlled drive that I know will find the fairway...probably about a 70% swing (problem is I don't use it like I should...haha).  I, like many others, have played with a lot of people that when they go to search for their ball in the rough they are about 15-20+ yards ahead of where we eventually end up finding their ball.  I think this would just create a lot of people saying "eff it" and trying to take a drop 20+ yards ahead of where their ball really was. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Moxley said:

Yes, but it's the same penalty if your ball is 300 yards down and 1 yard out of bounds, than it is if you shank it off the planet. It would be penal enough if you could drop by the (estimated) crossing point with a single stroke penalty, and would avoid all the time traipsing back to the tee (or the time keeping 2 balls in play).
 

If you aren't 100% sure your ball is in play and will be found, hit a provisional.  That will save all that time.  Make sure you use the word "provisional." 

Out of bounds is out of bounds.  You should generally plan your shots to avoid it.  It's deliberately more penal than a lateral hazard for a reason -- it's a course design and rules feature, not a bug.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

 

2 hours ago, Moxley said:

Yes, but it's the same penalty if your ball is 300 yards down and 1 yard out of bounds, than it is if you shank it off the planet.

 

And it is still one more stroke if a putt hovers over the lip and doesn't go in, lips out or if the put rolls 6' by. That's golf hey?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

16 minutes ago, Shindig said:

If you aren't 100% sure your ball is in play and will be found, hit a provisional.  That will save all that time.  Make sure you use the word "provisional." 

Out of bounds is out of bounds.  You should generally plan your shots to avoid it.  It's deliberately more penal than a lateral hazard for a reason -- it's a course design and rules feature, not a bug.

I do indeed play a provisional, and I can't remember the last time I hit a ball out of bounds, might not even be this year. I don't personally have a problem going oscar bravo, I'm just thinking about balance in the rules. 

Provisional balls improve matters, but sometimes people spray their original and provisional in opposite directions - that can lose a lot of time. I also find that the worst hole for OOB on my local course sees most people , myself included, more or less aiming into the trees on the other side to take OOB out of play, again slowing play when you end up in the woods/rough. 

I get the reasons why it's there, and I understand that it's been well considered (and changed several times), I just think dropping by the crossover point (when you can see the ball and reasonably project it) would be sufficient while speeding up the game. 
 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


I think the reason why people lose balls more often, and I see this all the time when I'm playing with others, is that people are looking in the wrong place.  I found it easier and saves time when I watch where their ball for them.  They tend to be looking for it 20-30 yards farther than they actually hit it.  I remember telling one guy who was at 300 yards looking for his ball he sliced into the woods.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

11 hours ago, Moxley said:

I do indeed play a provisional, and I can't remember the last time I hit a ball out of bounds, might not even be this year. I don't personally have a problem going oscar bravo, I'm just thinking about balance in the rules. 

Provisional balls improve matters, but sometimes people spray their original and provisional in opposite directions - that can lose a lot of time. I also find that the worst hole for OOB on my local course sees most people , myself included, more or less aiming into the trees on the other side to take OOB out of play, again slowing play when you end up in the woods/rough. 

I get the reasons why it's there, and I understand that it's been well considered (and changed several times), I just think dropping by the crossover point (when you can see the ball and reasonably project it) would be sufficient while speeding up the game. 
 

 

This example in your second paragraph reminds me of an example from the Broadie text where the optimal target might have OB in your shot zone (as the in-bounds but other side is too penal on the shot).  

Either way, I like OB having a harsher penalty than a lateral hazard;  played properly, it's used to encourage play away from something where we'd rather balls don't go (like on the road adjacent to the course) as opposed to places that we'd also like to discourage balls from going, but that aren't as important (for the course designer) to tell people to avoid (such as a lake). 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 hours ago, DDBowdoin said:

What happens when someone just takes your ball... this happens ALL the time on these crap public dog tracks I play.

Free drop when i play with strangers or friends. But it must be agreed upon by all and someone has to have seen another group lurking where the ball landed. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


On 8/1/2018 at 7:59 AM, alleztom said:

More existentially - how do you know it is still in bounds if you haven't found it?

It is both inbounds and out of bounds until observed.  Ask the cat.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 8/1/2018 at 6:38 AM, Moxley said:

Yes, but it's the same penalty if your ball is 300 yards down and 1 yard out of bounds, than it is if you shank it off the planet. It would be penal enough if you could drop by the (estimated) crossing point with a single stroke penalty, and would avoid all the time traipsing back to the tee (or the time keeping 2 balls in play).

 

Out of bounds is out of bounds - doesn't matter if it's an inch or 100 yards.  In either case, the ball has left the playing field and is necessarily subject to the same penalty.  It goes to equity, treating similar situation in the same way.  When I hit a ball that is near the boundary line but it is uncertain if it's in or out, I'll play a provisional ball.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 8/1/2018 at 4:07 PM, DDBowdoin said:

 .. of the countless times I assumed it happened I've only seen two or three people straight up pick my ball up from the tee as they walked into my hole.

@Gilberg is it you? 😂

Edited by MacDutch
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17 hours ago, millsan1 said:

It is both inbounds and out of bounds until observed.  Ask the cat.

 

7 hours ago, boogielicious said:

I wonder if Schrodinger played golf?

Well, maybe he did and maybe he didn’t.

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1141 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • A poll would be nice for this topic. Mine is standard 45.5”.
    • That's why I've got Nickent 3DX Hybrid irons, I have a 10 iron which works for me. Most sets of irons have 8" or more of loft gap between the 9 and the wedge, it's ok if your good enough to hit a half'ish or climb into the Sandiron but I'm not. I'm not too bad hitting a strong 9 8 7 etc but the wedges I'm more likely to hit skinny or fat, I think why there is so many wedges is all about the Money...
    • Above, or you could also make yourself a set of homemade speed training aids, instructions are all over the internet.
    • Day 202.  This evening, I spent ten minutes hitting balls.  I noticed my rehearsal swings weren't getting to where I expected and that my front arm was folding almost at setup.  I wonder if this was the issue yesterday?  I will have to pay more attention going forward.  By the way, I say "the issue yesterday" as if I hit the ball horribly.  Other than the first shot O.B. (which was also my first shot of the day -- range was closed), I played quite well, beating the 10 handicap mark on strokes gained by nearly a full stroke, and if we ignore the opening O.B. (which I maintain wouldn't have happened if I had been able to hit a few balls to warm up -- yes, it still counts of course), I'm under my handicap in SG:D for the day, too.  
    • Welcome to TST! Golf is a grand journey we all love around here. It’s disastrously wonderful. Cheers!
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Avanh
      Avanh
      (34 years old)
    2. DesertTime
      DesertTime
      (73 years old)
    3. Kersys
      Kersys
      (30 years old)
    4. takemoney
      takemoney
      (30 years old)
    5. trapdodger
      trapdodger
      (50 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...