Jump to content
iacas

Tour Players and 2019 Rules (Running Topic)

237 posts / 19535 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

6 hours ago, arab_joe said:

However, I disagree with the words that I have highlighted in bold - my understanding is that you cannot avoid the penalty by backing off the shot and starting again.

So did people on Twitter. They didn't read the correct section of the Rule either.

I love the outrage that occurs when something like this happens. The rule is fine, and the player breached it. I don't care about "intent" here, nor do many of the Rules. The player also, in this case, had a chance to "fix" things and didn't. I also love the calls to add subjectivity and all this BS about whether "an advantage" was gained. See my response in the Denis Pugh topic for a brief bit on that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

16 hours ago, iacas said:

So did people on Twitter. They didn't read the correct section of the Rule either.

I love the outrage that occurs when something like this happens. The rule is fine, and the player breached it. I don't care about "intent" here, nor do many of the Rules. The player also, in this case, had a chance to "fix" things and didn't. I also love the calls to add subjectivity and all this BS about whether "an advantage" was gained. See my response in the Denis Pugh topic for a brief bit on that.

I stand corrected.  That makes sense (although it is a bit strange that the exception applies for a putt on the green but not for any other shot).

I think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, arab_joe said:

think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

Maybe so. But it’s also clearly obvious when a player isn’t taking his stance. So, stay the hell away from the line. Period. It’s like when an idiot football player makes the decision not to catch the punt then proceeds to stay as near as possible causing a potential touched ball and loss of possession. Get the hell away objectively. It’s that simple.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, arab_joe said:

I stand corrected.  That makes sense (although it is a bit strange that the exception applies for a putt on the green but not for any other shot).

I think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

The Interpretations (10.2b(4)/1) actually say that there's no set procedure for determining when the player has begun to take his stance, but does give some guidelines and examples.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, arab_joe said:

I think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

As @DaveP043 noted, 10.2b(4)/1 provides the guidance.

On both the European AND PGA Tours, rules officials have been hammering the guys for weeks and weeks and weeks about this rule in particular.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On mobile so cant post the tweets I saw, but are questioning why Denny McCarthy got penalized today while Rickie didnt on one of his shots.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Hmmm the Rickie one looks close. Don’t know how close he was to the ball, or where the line was. The caddie wasn’t paying attention so that’s in his favor.

They got both of those right from what I can see.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, iacas said:

Hmmm the Rickie one looks close. Don’t know how close he was to the ball, or where the line was. The caddie wasn’t paying attention so that’s in his favor.

They got both of those right from what I can see.

The second caddie didn't seem to be deliberately standing on the line. He wasn't aware of just where he was.

No arguing with the first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Rulesman said:

The second caddie didn't seem to be deliberately standing on the line. He wasn't aware of just where he was.

No arguing with the first.

The second caddy looked like he saw a train coming! 😀

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Rulesman said:

The second caddie didn't seem to be deliberately standing on the line. He wasn't aware of just where he was.

No arguing with the first.

Right. That’s what the “deliberately” part is there for. 🙂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On the Rickie one, I'd like to see a longer clip, but it does seem that the caddie may not have been intentionally standing on the line.  A longer video might change my perception of that, but I can accept the decision not to penalize him.  In the McCarthy one, the caddie is clearly standing exactly on the line while McCarthy makes several practice swings, and then moves before the player begins to take his actual stance at the ball itself.  So the question becomes an evaluation of whether McCarthy  "has his or her feet or body close to a position where useful guidance on aiming at the intended target could be given" in which case "it should be decided that the player has begun to take his or her stance."  I'd say this qualifies, so that penalty is appropriate.

I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, DaveP043 said:

I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

Agreed, that's pretty much bullshit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In other news, Webb Simpson must have forgotten there are new rules about how to drop:

1327275869_simpsondropa.thumb.jpg.a84503dbfd8af0a33a3ddaf488505170.jpg

And gets a little on-course guidance:

615860624_simpsondropb.thumb.jpg.95fafcd95e449654d9b23d640943974b.jpg

And after instruction, comes up with this:

886625692_simpsondropc.thumb.jpg.9cde5cda3d4f3cbac101eb63924fa419.jpg

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

I disagree.

You'd have to ask the USGA/R&A what their reasons are, but maybe it's that on a putting green your feet don’t trample down the grass like can easily happen in the fairway, rough, waste areas or other areas of the course.

Once a player lines up off the putting green they could quickly back out and re-settle into the same spots.

The Rule is fine as written IMO.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, iacas said:

I disagree.

You'd have to ask the USGA/R&A what their reasons are, but maybe it's that on a putting green your feet don’t trample down the grass like can easily happen in the fairway, rough, waste areas or other areas of the course.

Once a player lines up off the putting green they could quickly back out and re-settle into the same spots.

The Rule is fine as written IMO.

I would disagree, I’ve played on many greens where you can see clear footprints for a couple of minutes after walking/standing on them. 

I’m also curious why practice strokes count for this...it’s almost by definition not your “actual” stance. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...