Jump to content
iacas

Tour Players and 2019 Rules (Running Topic)

237 posts / 22977 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

6 hours ago, arab_joe said:

However, I disagree with the words that I have highlighted in bold - my understanding is that you cannot avoid the penalty by backing off the shot and starting again.

So did people on Twitter. They didn't read the correct section of the Rule either.

I love the outrage that occurs when something like this happens. The rule is fine, and the player breached it. I don't care about "intent" here, nor do many of the Rules. The player also, in this case, had a chance to "fix" things and didn't. I also love the calls to add subjectivity and all this BS about whether "an advantage" was gained. See my response in the Denis Pugh topic for a brief bit on that.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

16 hours ago, iacas said:

So did people on Twitter. They didn't read the correct section of the Rule either.

I love the outrage that occurs when something like this happens. The rule is fine, and the player breached it. I don't care about "intent" here, nor do many of the Rules. The player also, in this case, had a chance to "fix" things and didn't. I also love the calls to add subjectivity and all this BS about whether "an advantage" was gained. See my response in the Denis Pugh topic for a brief bit on that.

I stand corrected.  That makes sense (although it is a bit strange that the exception applies for a putt on the green but not for any other shot).

I think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, arab_joe said:

think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

Maybe so. But it’s also clearly obvious when a player isn’t taking his stance. So, stay the hell away from the line. Period. It’s like when an idiot football player makes the decision not to catch the punt then proceeds to stay as near as possible causing a potential touched ball and loss of possession. Get the hell away objectively. It’s that simple.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, arab_joe said:

I stand corrected.  That makes sense (although it is a bit strange that the exception applies for a putt on the green but not for any other shot).

I think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

The Interpretations (10.2b(4)/1) actually say that there's no set procedure for determining when the player has begun to take his stance, but does give some guidelines and examples.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, arab_joe said:

I think the issue is that a certain level of subjectivity already exists - because there is no defined moment when a player is "beginning to take his stance".

As @DaveP043 noted, 10.2b(4)/1 provides the guidance.

On both the European AND PGA Tours, rules officials have been hammering the guys for weeks and weeks and weeks about this rule in particular.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Hmmm the Rickie one looks close. Don’t know how close he was to the ball, or where the line was. The caddie wasn’t paying attention so that’s in his favor.

They got both of those right from what I can see.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, iacas said:

Hmmm the Rickie one looks close. Don’t know how close he was to the ball, or where the line was. The caddie wasn’t paying attention so that’s in his favor.

They got both of those right from what I can see.

The second caddie didn't seem to be deliberately standing on the line. He wasn't aware of just where he was.

No arguing with the first.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Rulesman said:

The second caddie didn't seem to be deliberately standing on the line. He wasn't aware of just where he was.

No arguing with the first.

The second caddy looked like he saw a train coming! 😀

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Rulesman said:

The second caddie didn't seem to be deliberately standing on the line. He wasn't aware of just where he was.

No arguing with the first.

Right. That’s what the “deliberately” part is there for. 🙂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On the Rickie one, I'd like to see a longer clip, but it does seem that the caddie may not have been intentionally standing on the line.  A longer video might change my perception of that, but I can accept the decision not to penalize him.  In the McCarthy one, the caddie is clearly standing exactly on the line while McCarthy makes several practice swings, and then moves before the player begins to take his actual stance at the ball itself.  So the question becomes an evaluation of whether McCarthy  "has his or her feet or body close to a position where useful guidance on aiming at the intended target could be given" in which case "it should be decided that the player has begun to take his or her stance."  I'd say this qualifies, so that penalty is appropriate.

I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, DaveP043 said:

I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

Agreed, that's pretty much bullshit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In other news, Webb Simpson must have forgotten there are new rules about how to drop:

1327275869_simpsondropa.thumb.jpg.a84503dbfd8af0a33a3ddaf488505170.jpg

And gets a little on-course guidance:

615860624_simpsondropb.thumb.jpg.95fafcd95e449654d9b23d640943974b.jpg

And after instruction, comes up with this:

886625692_simpsondropc.thumb.jpg.9cde5cda3d4f3cbac101eb63924fa419.jpg

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

I wonder if this rule might be revised to allow the player to step away and begin his routine and avoid a penalty in all locations, rather than only on the putting green.  To me, the penalty for the practice swings seems beyond the intent of the rule.

I disagree.

You'd have to ask the USGA/R&A what their reasons are, but maybe it's that on a putting green your feet don’t trample down the grass like can easily happen in the fairway, rough, waste areas or other areas of the course.

Once a player lines up off the putting green they could quickly back out and re-settle into the same spots.

The Rule is fine as written IMO.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, iacas said:

I disagree.

You'd have to ask the USGA/R&A what their reasons are, but maybe it's that on a putting green your feet don’t trample down the grass like can easily happen in the fairway, rough, waste areas or other areas of the course.

Once a player lines up off the putting green they could quickly back out and re-settle into the same spots.

The Rule is fine as written IMO.

I would disagree, I’ve played on many greens where you can see clear footprints for a couple of minutes after walking/standing on them. 

I’m also curious why practice strokes count for this...it’s almost by definition not your “actual” stance. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2020 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Would You Rather…? #16: Hit the ball as solidly but, due to some luck or whatever, score relatively poorly for you. Hit the ball poorly but, due to some luck or some holed chips or whatever, score really well. It would be more fun to hit poorly and score really well.  Just imagine all your buddies...… "I just don't under stand it, he cannot play good at all, but keeps kicking my butt". Just imagine that par 3..... Over water...….  Mishit, and it goes short and instead of splash, a turtle comes to the surface and the ball bounces off the shell and onto the green 6" from the hole...….  who wouldn't want that kind of luck to happen....
    • I demo the SIM (not max or max d) and find it hit similar to my M5tour in terms of distance/carry/launch/spin. It felt more bulky to me, but that’s a personal preference since I like the smaller 435cc head over 460.
    • This for me, too. Every so often I get the shanks with my wedges and nothing will make me feel more nervous on the course.
    • Wedges and irons up through 7 have been really solid lately. Main thought has been keeping my elbows close together and getting right elbow in front of belly button on the downswing instead of trapped on my right hip. Can immediately feel a huge difference when I do it right, which is about 80% of the time on full speed swings with the short irons right now. Have been playing around with flighted short iron shots and starting to get a good feel for them as well, although I think I might be moving the ball too far back in my stance because I seem to be over drawing a lot of them compared to my regular trajectory iron shots which has been pretty straight lately. 3,4,5,6 irons are still a work in progress, not hitting them too well right now. Driver is still what I am spending the majority of my time on, finally made progress with my priority piece of not jumping off the right leg, the feeling of rotating my right knee inwards and driving my right quad towards the target really helped. Multiple practice sessions with an alignment stick angled at knee height about 1 inch inside my right knee really helped me from jumping out towards the ball. Swing is still too steep, so have been and will keep doing a lot of slow motion and partial reps really feeling and over exaggerating my right elbow leading the way/initiating the downswing. One feeling that helped today was feeling like my right elbow and right quad were connected, meaning that they both would drive towards the target at the same time to start the downswing. 
    • I cant figure out why they tied his hands though. He seems to have the arm and the head to throw it.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. ChazzUK
      ChazzUK
      (28 years old)
    2. dhw1500
      dhw1500
      (21 years old)
    3. Gaylord P
      Gaylord P
      (74 years old)
    4. manoj
      manoj
      (33 years old)
    5. Pendragon
      Pendragon
      (74 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...