Jump to content
cutchemist42

Is There a Golf Equivalent of the Houston Astros Scandal?

56 posts / 2112 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Anything come close to this scandal in golf lore? I've seen this asked on other sport forums and it led to some interesting stories and takes so thought I'd ask here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If you mean deliberately cheating and getting away with it with little to no penalty? Sure, it just happened to Patrick Reed at the Hero World Challenge and has happened to others in the past.

Has someone deliberately cheated and gone on to win a major championship? I'm not sure. My knowledge of golf history is quite limited compared to others on here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17 minutes ago, klineka said:

If you mean deliberately cheating and getting away with it with little to no penalty? Sure, it just happened to Patrick Reed at the Hero World Challenge and has happened to others in the past.

Has someone deliberately cheated and gone on to win a major championship? I'm not sure. My knowledge of golf history is quite limited compared to others on here.

Yeah the Patrick Reed is one thing. I was kinda thinking any of the Majors or 2nd tier tournies.

I almost think it might be hard to fully cheat your way to a tourney of that level but I dont know the full history of golf to say so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 minutes ago, klineka said:

Has someone deliberately cheated and gone on to win a major championship? I'm not sure. My knowledge of golf history is quite limited compared to others on here.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, klineka said:

If you mean deliberately cheating and getting away with it with little to no penalty? Sure, it just happened to Patrick Reed at the Hero World Challenge and has happened to others in the past.

He was penalized two strokes. Even if he had done it intentionally… it's two strokes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Nothing compares with the magnitude of cheating over an entire season, including the playoffs, resulting in winning the World Series.

I could envision someone incorporating electronics that go undetected.  Not exactly the Rodney Dangerfield putter, but some unfair advantage.

However, if someone was able to cheat throughout the season, end up number one and win the Tour Championship/Fedex Cup there would be more than a slap on the wrist.

John

Edited by 70sSanO

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

No, not even close.  There have undoubtedly been instances of individual golfers infringing, But the kind of systematic, organizational conspiracy to cheat that occurred with the Astros?  Nothing remotely comparable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Patiently waiting for a male pro to transition and go on the lpga.

that will be big

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 minutes ago, chilepepper said:

Patiently waiting for a male pro to transition and go on the lpga.

that will be big

That should be a poll, Who could make the transition? I'd vote for Ian Poulter just because he's Ian Poulter. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The closest we seem to have is Billy Mayfair who has the worst reputation (maybe Reed has it now) for consistent cheating.

Reed has had a better career, IMO.   But those 1-2 shots here and there that you save by cheating can be the difference in how you place and that can translate to serious money.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

And then there's the other side of the coin. Roberto Devincenzo signed for an incorrect score, kept by a playing opponent, and lost the Masters because of it. He would have been in a playoff if that score had been accepted, or won the Masters outright if the score had been kept correctly. I think! It was a long time ago! 

And I don't know if this qualifies as cheating, but Nicklaus and Palmer were in a playoff for the 1962 US Open at Oakmont. In that day you had to come back on Monday and play 18 to decide things. I read an article that said, in the locker room before the match, Palmer asked Nicklaus if he wanted to "split it". Meaning  split the pot. Apparently, this was a common occurrence back then and, who knows, maybe today.

If I recall correctly, the purse was $10,000 to the winner, $5,000 for second place. So, they could go out, play a stress free round of golf, and both head home with $7,500 in their pocket! Big money in '62!

Reportedly, Nicklaus thought about it for a few seconds and said, "No, I'd rather play it straight," , and Palmer replied, "That's what I thought you'd say".  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Buckeyebowman said:

And I don't know if this qualifies as cheating, but Nicklaus and Palmer were in a playoff for the 1962 US Open at Oakmont. In that day you had to come back on Monday and play 18 to decide things. I read an article that said, in the locker room before the match, Palmer asked Nicklaus if he wanted to "split it". Meaning  split the pot. Apparently, this was a common occurrence back then and, who knows, maybe today.

If I recall correctly, the purse was $10,000 to the winner, $5,000 for second place. So, they could go out, play a stress free round of golf, and both head home with $7,500 in their pocket! Big money in '62!

Reportedly, Nicklaus thought about it for a few seconds and said, "No, I'd rather play it straight," , and Palmer replied, "That's what I thought you'd say".

Cool story, but what’s it have to do with cheating?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 minutes ago, Buckeyebowman said:

And then there's the other side of the coin. Roberto Devincenzo signed for an incorrect score, kept by a playing opponent, and lost the Masters because of it. He would have been in a playoff if that score had been accepted, or won the Masters outright if the score had been kept correctly. I think! It was a long time ago! 

The score was accepted. He signed for a 4 instead of a 3.

And yeah, what’s the point of your post?

BTW Palmer was upset he didn’t agree.

B450D968-31F8-45F8-A073-16BABF276DD2.jpeg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, billchao said:

Cool story, but what’s it have to do with cheating?

Probably zero, even if we include the ending.  Palmer picked up Nicklaus's marker on 18, trying to concede.  He was stopped by a USGA rules official who reminded him that in medal play, you cannot concede a putt.  He put it back, Nicklaus made the 2' for 71 (to Palmer's 74).

But there was no intent, and (at least to me) to use the word cheating there has to be intent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

23 hours ago, iacas said:

The score was accepted. He signed for a 4 instead of a 3.

And yeah, what’s the point of your post?

BTW Palmer was upset he didn’t agree.

B450D968-31F8-45F8-A073-16BABF276DD2.jpeg

OK, you read a different article than I did. 

23 hours ago, billchao said:

Cool story, but what’s it have to do with cheating?

That's why I included in my reply "And I don't know if this qualifies as cheating"! Reading comprehension is a wonderful thing. But, don't feel too bad about it. I've made mistakes myself. The point being that both players could have a stress free round of golf knowing they were both going home with a predetermined amount of money! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • So true.  If I birdie the first hole I start thinking about a round in the 60's.  
    • Taking Lessons/Practice to the Course: I've really been struggling on the course lately with the full swing. Too many big pushes, or snap hooks on tee shots and approach shots. But when I'm in a lesson, or in the indoor practice bay with launch monitors, or practicing at home with net/mat, I can't replicate the misses consistently. In these non-course situations, contact is mostly decent, start line is good, and curve is acceptable (for my ability). I'm tempted to film a couple live in-round swings to send to my instructor, or possibly see about scheduling a playing lesson to have identify where I'm going off the rails. Obviously I'm doing something different on the course and my improvements in lessons/practice aren't making it into my game. Full Swing: Setup with hands higher has been no problem. Not sure how I got to the point where they were so low. I've added this to the list of things to check on when I film my swing. Making a quicker backswing has also been no problem. I think I had been slowing down takeaway/backswing because I was practicing a lot of slo-mo backswings, and it just kind of migrated to full swing. Avoiding hip stall has been the main full swing priority. Have been doing a lot of work on this with the planemate, and making a lot of 9-3 swings really focusing on hips not stopping. I think it is coming along well, but I haven't filmed a swing to compare yet. A side benefit of the 9-3 swings has been that I have mapped distances with Mevo for this swing from LW all the way down to 7-iron, and have had some on-course chances to make use of it. Putting: Improving setup (eyes about 0.5-1 balls inside line) has made a huge difference in aiming, and has improve accuracy. I feel like when I miss, it is either a bad read or a bad stroke. Mechanically, I think my stroke is pretty good, but I get a little wobbly on shorter putts, so need to work on stability on these. Giving myself a target has helped lag putting significantly on uphill/downhill putts. By target, I mean for example, on a downhill putt, choosing a spot 4 feet short of the hole as a measurement point, rather than just thinking "hit this one a little softer than normal".
    • Really nice round today. Best driving round of my life. Was blocking the driver for weeks and I went to range and really worked on tempo and not rushing things at the top. For the last 3-4 weeks everything has gotten better and better culminating in a round today where I hit 10/11 fairways. I’m not counting the 2 holes I went for the green off the tee and missed them. I hit 12/18 GIR. Shot +3 on front and even on back. 11 pars, 2 birds and 5 bogeys. Best round of the season for me. Maybe the best ball striking round I’ve had ever. My misses were all solid except for the 3 wood I went at the 1st green in 2 with. Feeling very happy with where my game is right now.
    • Today I played at Hillandale Golf Course, which measures just over 6K from the whites (par 71).  This round was an excellent round, and it’s one that I’ll remember for a while. It didn’t start out that way though. I parred the first hole, bogeyed the par-5 second, and tripled number three after missing the green from a chip and three-jacking from three feet. I then ripped through the last six holes on the front nine at just one over, leaving my front nine score at 40. The back nine is where it got interesting. Hole-by-hole through the fourteenth: No. 10: Bomb down the middle, PW to green, two-putt for par. No. 11: Iron to middle of fairway, hybrid just short, up-and-down for par. No. 12: 5W to right side of fairway, 9I to green, two-putt for par. No. 13: Driver to fairway, 7I short, up-and-down for par. No. 14: Sliced drive, 6I layup, 9I to green, two-putt for par. At this point, I was still +5 on the day, just one over on the last 11 holes. Then I pulled my tee shot on the par-3 fifteenth, tried a bump-and-run that came up short, then couldn’t make an up-and-down for bogey. Seven over.  The 16th was better. After a tee shot that just missed the fairway, I took dead aim at the pin and hit it a tad long, still on the green. Two-putt for par. Now to the par-3 17th, where I pulled a 7I dead left (the third time in a row I’ve done it on that hole), and made double from there. I’ll spare the details of that hole.  On to the 480-yard par-5 18th, which was playing slightly downwind. I needed a birdie to shoot 79, and I knew it. In a golf camp once where I played from the golds here (makes the par-5 hole 430 yards), I needed a four to shoot 39 on the side and did so, making an 8-footer. I felt confident that I could do it again today. I gave the drive all I had, and I was rewarded with a long and straight drive. When I reached my ball, I saw the 225-yard marker a few paces in front of me. The green was in play. I went for it and hit it a bit right, but still in the fairway. I knew then that a personal best was just a formality, because I would’ve needed to take eight shots to get down to not beat my record of 85. My pitch shot settled ten feet out, leaving me with a solid chance for the birdie I wanted. I took a bit longer than usual on this putt, and then sent it on it’s way. Perfect line...but it stopped a roll short of a birdie and 79. I tapped in for a par and 80. A new personal best by five shots! This was some of the most consistent  ballstriking I’ve ever had. I’ve definitely putted better, but I’m satisfied with how I putted (with the exception of one hole). Chipping, for the most part, was also solid. No lost balls today, unlike yesterday.  Another thing I’m proud of, maybe this more than anything. Starting on the 11th hole, thoughts started to materialize about the fact that I could break 80 today. Before those thoughts got through my head, I was able to push them out and concentrate on the shot I had to hit right then. It wasn’t easy, but I did it.  But, if I hadn’t three-putted on the third hole, I would’ve shot 79 or even a 78. I’m still thrilled with an 80, especially after I shot a 91 yesterday.
    • FWIW to others, I replied offline (in a PM) to @louisfr.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dave Saari
      Dave Saari
      (70 years old)
    2. pisarcik27
      pisarcik27
      (35 years old)
    3. Rustus
      Rustus
      (83 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...