Jump to content
IGNORED

Using a Weighted Donut Between Shots


Papa Steve 55
 Share

Recommended Posts

This weekend we had a very slow round. One of the guys in my group has back issues and was putting a swing donut on his driver to try and stay loose while waiting on the tee. Another in the group said it was a rules violation. I looked on my phone but the closest thing I found was he could not take a shot with any kind of training aid, but nothing mentioned using them during down time in a round. Did I miss something or was it ok?

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • iacas changed the title to Using a Weighted Donut Between Shots
  • Administrator

If he made swings with them, and didn't use the donut for general stretching, I believe it's a breach of 4.3:

Quote

(6) Stretching Devices and Training or Swing Aids.

  • Allowed.

    • Using any equipment for general stretching (other than in making a practice swing), whether the equipment is designed for stretching, for use in golf (such as an alignment rod placed across the shoulders) or for any purpose unrelated to golf (such as rubber tubing or a section of pipe).

  • Not Allowed.

    • Using any type of golf training or swing aid (such as an alignment rod or a weighted headcover or “donut”) or a non-conforming club to make a practice swing or in any other way that creates a potential advantage by helping the player in preparing for or making a stroke (such as help with swing plane, grip, alignment, ball position or posture).

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I was at this event in Portland in 2010.....Juli Inkster was DQ'd for putting on a weighted donut for practice swings to keep limber after a long wait on a tee block....as a LPGA veteran, she should have known better.

But the big story that week was Dina Ammacapane shaming a small kid who sign up to loop and was assigned Dina by the caddie master.

https://www.eastoregonian.com/sports/inkster-dq-d-miyazato-leads-safeway-classic/article_c2e79d22-8251-5904-b5cf-15670b0c6c4d.html

https://www.oregonlive.com/sports/oregonian/john_canzano/2010/08/canzano_lpga_golfers_short_fus.html

 

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites


So he was using it to aleve back stiffness, which in turn helped his swing. But he also used it with his driver on par threes, where he was hitting a short iron. The rule seems to punitive. For us with this guy, if it came down to he can't play w/o doing this, we would rather have him play. 

Thanks for the replies.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


58 minutes ago, Mr22putt said:

I was at this event in Portland in 2010.....Juli Inkster was DQ'd for putting on a weighted donut for practice swings to keep limber after a long wait on a tee block....as a LPGA veteran, she should have known better.

But the big story that week was Dina Ammacapane shaming a small kid who sign up to loop and was assigned Dina by the caddie master.

https://www.eastoregonian.com/sports/inkster-dq-d-miyazato-leads-safeway-classic/article_c2e79d22-8251-5904-b5cf-15670b0c6c4d.html

https://www.oregonlive.com/sports/oregonian/john_canzano/2010/08/canzano_lpga_golfers_short_fus.html

 

 

If that’s how she really handled it she’s an ass. ‘ Hey little buddy...you sure you can carry this bag?’ Quietly to him. That simple. I hope she shot a solid 80.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
59 minutes ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

The rule seems to punitive. For us with this guy, if it came down to he can't play w/o doing this, we would rather have him play.

Hard disagree.

He can stretch his back out a number of legal ways.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

What about these dingbats who carry the Orange Whip in their bag? Fortunately I have never had to play with one of these guys, but I occasionally see them on the first tee swinging away. Not sure if they are swinging it throughout their round or not. Seems like an adult security blanket or pacifier.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

18 hours ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

This weekend we had a very slow round. One of the guys in my group has back issues and was putting a swing donut on his driver to try and stay loose while waiting on the tee. Another in the group said it was a rules violation. I looked on my phone but the closest thing I found was he could not take a shot with any kind of training aid, but nothing mentioned using them during down time in a round. Did I miss something or was it ok?

Not Allowed.

  • Using any type of golf training or swing aid (such as an alignment rod or a weighted headcover or “donut”) or a non-conforming club to make a practice swing or in any other way that creates a potential advantage by helping the player in preparing for or making a stroke (such as help with swing plane, grip, alignment, ball position or posture).

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


18 hours ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

So he was using it to aleve back stiffness, which in turn helped his swing. But he also used it with his driver on par threes, where he was hitting a short iron. The rule seems to punitive. For us with this guy, if it came down to he can't play w/o doing this, we would rather have him play. 

Thanks for the replies.

If he needs to keep loose, he could swing two golf clubs for the added weight, and do so within the rules.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

19 hours ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

So he was using it to aleve back stiffness

Lots of ways to do this legally.

 

19 hours ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

which in turn helped his swing.

Exactly, which is why the rule is in place.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

18 hours ago, Carl3 said:

What about these dingbats who carry the Orange Whip in their bag? Fortunately I have never had to play with one of these guys, but I occasionally see them on the first tee swinging away. Not sure if they are swinging it throughout their round or not. Seems like an adult security blanket or pacifier.

On the practice fairway or first tee is fine..... but once the round commences it's a penalty - see the first sentence of Rule 4.3.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


22 hours ago, Whiner said:

Swinging a club with its headcover on is perfectly legal.  There are some with zippers which stay on!  I've asked USGA.  

 

19 hours ago, iacas said:

He can stretch his back out a number of legal ways.

I remember a guy I used to play with occasionally back in the 90's who had a heavy headcover. The head cover looked completely normal, but if you picked it up you realized that it weighed way more than a normal head cover. His had a Velcro closure so it stayed on very well. He would swing it really hard and I never saw it fly off. I'm guessing that he had turned it inside out and sewn a bag of lead shot into the top of the cover, but not really sure. He used it for exactly the purpose of keeping his back loose. At the time he said it was legal and none of us ever really gave it much thought. Looking back it seems kind of shady now. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 9/28/2020 at 4:39 AM, DaveP043 said:

If he needs to keep loose, he could swing two golf clubs for the added weight, and do so within the rules.

Or if he has one iron that he never uses (like a 3 iron for example) he can put a lot of lead tape on it to make it extra heavy because grabbing two clubs can be awkward.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • 10 months later...

Bit of an old thread, but on topic. this came up in league play yesterday. Player swinging a club with a donut on the first tee, in the teeing area, prior to hitting his first shot of the match. 

I know not it's allowed once the round is underway.

But when exactly does the round start for the donut swinger, when anyone in the foursome hits the first shot? Or when he himself takes the first shot?

Among other reasons, I think the donut is going to fly off his 2-iron and clunk someone.

 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • They must have heard me whining.. lol.
    • I bought a sleeve of Taylormade Tour Response with the large green stripe.  I like them, and the way I’ve seen people line up putts is to line the big green stripe 90 degrees to where they are aiming, so unlike the triple track or single line guides that point at your line, it’s the other way. I’ve started doing that with any ball now, even lining up off the tee.   Generally I play Titleist ProV1 regular or X, with some TP5 and Chrome Soft Triple Track thrown in
    • - No need to be greedy here.  They are lying three (two stroke penalty), you are lying one.  Play for par as the best they can do is hole out for bogie.   - Play to the safe part of the green, no need to sucker pin into trouble.  In LSW, Erik covers why playing to the safer part of the green is smarter course management.  20ft for birdie is likely a two-putt for par, just as a good lag putt from 40ft is a two-putt for par.  Halve the hole and move on.   - When we play our casual men's best ball, we always let the accurate guys go first then we unleash the bomber.  I would do the same here, let the accurate guy get theirs in play as close as they can.  This sets up the bomber to hit a good driveable shot into the green for the win!  IF they OB the ball,  you are still looking at a decent attempt for birdie by the accurate one.    
    • I, on average, find 4 to 8 balls a round.  Many of them new. 200+ rounds a year so I find at least 800 balls every year. So, let's say I get the opportunity to play a hole or so with lots and lots of different type balls.  The following are balls I give to my buddies that I find...Snell, Vice, Kirkland, Top Flite, Srixon, Titleist AVX along with anything pink, orange, red.   I play mostly Bridgestone balls, the e12 Control.  Do not like it as well as the e12 Spin that was discontinued.  I also play the Callaway Supersoft.  But, as I said, I get to try lots of other balls.  Just hard to find the feel on all shots on the balls I described I give away.   The last ball I found was a TaylorMade TP5 Yellow.  Couple years back I used to play the TP5X white.  I found the TP5 played vey well.  I liked the feel.  Probably won't switch to it but overall a very good golf ball.   BTW, maybe it is because I am old but I hate the phrase where the word "game" is used instead of "play".  I don't game any balls, I play Bridgestone.  Now, the grouchy old man has spoken.  😁
    • Tiger Woods missed US Open to prepare for 150th Open Championship at St Andrews - BBC Sport Tiger Woods says he missed last month's US Open to "give it at least one more run at a high level" on the Old Course at next week's 150th Open... So now we know he likes to read Dean Koontz.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Daniel-J
      Daniel-J
      (32 years old)
    2. internal911
      internal911
      (42 years old)
    3. ipadair
      ipadair
      (11 years old)
    4. jwsmith6
      jwsmith6
      (34 years old)
    5. nigel
      nigel
      (64 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...