IGNORED

How to proceed?

Pretzel
Note:Β This thread is 3040 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic.Β Thank you!

I have a friend who is interested in learning how to golf, but lessons are off the table due to budget constraints. My question is how can I get the friend started on the correct path to enjoy the game without them taking lessons? I'm honestly not sure what to tell the person who's a complete beginner, just because their swings are all completely different from each other. Do I take them to the range first so they can make contact with the ball, or do I go on the course with them first to get them excited about the game (with, obviously, at least a short range session to get some basics). Should they focus on any specific aspect of the game, or just work on them all? It sends to me like chipping practice would be beneficial just for the practice of making solid contact, but I could be way off bade. Any advice is appreciated.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Basics, grip, posture, one piece takeaway and tempo.

Have him hit only two clubs for a month. Have him swingΒ everyday, p-wedge and 9 iron, a minimum of five minutes.

Have him only use 3/4 swings. Putting practice only at first.

Then pitch and chip shots after he demonstrates decent swings with the wedge.

Then progress to the 8 & 7. Another month of practice with the four clubs.

Demonstrate various stances on unevenly surfaces.

IfΒ he commits to practicing, then introduce him to a par 3 course.

Teach him rules and etiquette as you go. Have him read and watch videos.

After a couple of months, he should be ready to progress to longer clubs and woods.

By then, he will either be hooked or find out he may not be interested.

Club Rat

Johnny Rocket - Let's Rock and Roll and play some golf !!!