IGNORED

5 wood vs 3 hybrid

Note: This thread is 2015 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

The 5 wood should go further, comfortably.

From my own experience :

- hybrid will be easier off tee & rough

- hybrid should be straighter, although I'm more likely to miss left.

- 5 wood easier to curve when desired.

• Thumbs Up 1

I have an 18 degree 5 wood and a 19 degree hybrid in my bag.  The 5 wood is two inches longer than the hybrid and that results in a significant difference, in distance, off the tee.  Off the turf not so much.  From uneven lies I usually opt for the shorter club when the ball is above my feet and the longer club when the ball is below my feet.  I like both but if I could only carry one it would be the 5 wood.  

In der bag:
Cleveland Hi-Bore driver, Maltby 5 wood, Maltby hybrid, Maltby irons and wedges (23 to 50) Vokey 59/07, Cleveland Niblick (LH-42), and a Maltby mallet putter.                                                                                                                                                 "When the going gets tough...it's tough to get going."

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have both and use the 5W off of the tee or when I have a very good lie.   The 3H is much easier to hit from the rough.

• Like 1

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Depends on how you hit them - the 5 wood has a bigger profile in the rough, and as a result, a hybrid is usually easier to get up and out from the deeper stuff. The HY also has a shorter shaft  - I play a 5 wd at 42 inches and some HY 3 are  40.5. Does that affect consistency? Maybe. Maybe not.