IGNORED

Do You Play in Golf Tournaments?

Cantankerish
Note: This thread is 1636 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Curious about how many TST members participate in golf tournaments. Are tournaments important to your enjoyment of the game?  

39 members have voted

1. 1. Do you play in golf tournaments?

• No. Never have. Not my thing.
    • No. But I might be prevailed upon to do so if...
    • No. "I am considering it though" or "if I could find one".
    • One or just a few. My experience was...
    • When I get the chance.
    • All the time! That what the game is for.
    • Of course! I am a pro after all.
    • I used to. I no longer compete because...
    • I have. I might compete again if...
    • There are tournaments?
    • Other

I played once or maybe twice when I was young.  My brother needed a fourth for a beer league scramble.  Looking back, he must have been desperate.

Mostly, I am curious if our community members are commonly playing tournament golf, and at what level.  I do not even know what different structures exist.  Is semi-pro a thing in golf?

Edited by Cantankerish

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The men's association at my local muni courses has about 12 different tournaments/events over the course of the year. I play in a handful including the two-round Club Championship. We had 99 members this year and have been able to flight things fairly well. I get to play against the other high-caps and can actually compete when my game is sort of together.

If I, somehow, ever get decent., I may give the City Championship a go just for the hell of it. I'd be under no illusions of winning. The big boys are just too damn good. This year's champ shot a course-record 62 on a course that was 7,124 yards. 

Love tournament play.  I play as many as I can. 

In David's bag....