IGNORED

Help Needed… Should I Quit Golf?

jamesdav12
Note: This thread is 2538 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Hi everyone,

I'd appreciate some advice, and I'll try to keep this short.

So I'm 18 and I've been playing golf since I was 5 and really got into it when I was about 11/12. I have been playing in some low stakes tournaments for the past 6 years and I'm finishing up my last year and last season of golf for my high school right now. When I was younger I aspired to play collegiate level golf and to simply get really good. Being completely honest with myself, I have seen no improvement over the past 4 years (other than simply hitting the ball farther from growing taller) and I am pretty much stuck at a very inconsistent skill level of golf that results in scores everywhere from +18 to +5 for 18 holes. To give you all a better idea, I have put a lot of hours into this game and for many years tried very hard at improving my swing by studying the pros, filming my golf swing, and practicing on the range and course.(Yes I have given golf lessons a fair try) I am a student of the game, and I can feel that I can analyze any golf swing very well.