Jump to content
IGNORED

Patrick Reed vs. the Rules of Golf


NM Golf

Recommended Posts

21 hours ago, iacas said:

The lie is more than the ball.

Your point is taken because it’s the spot on which the ball lies by definition but colloquially “spot” is the area immediately around the ball. Nobody whose ball is sitting down in Bermuda grass says “my lie is great but my area of swing is bad.”

He breached the rule. That much is clear.

I started to write about the definition of lie but deleted it.  He was trying to compare what Reed did to someone sticking a tee in the rough and putting his ball on it.

Under the definition of lie I don't see where sand behind the ball fits in.  While we know sand is not a loose impediment does it fall under "attached natural object?"  Sand isn't attached, a gust of wind could blow it away.  Clearly though 8.1a(4) says you can't "remove or press down sand or loose soil.".

Rob Tyska

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

You seemingly missed the "your point is taken" bit, so, anyway…

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

How does a player at the highest level of the sport not see that he's pushed sand back or felt that he's pushed sand back with his club?  Is it possible, when you're as good as he is, not to realize what you've done....twice?  

 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator
3 hours ago, Herkimer said:

How does a player at the highest level of the sport not see that he's pushed sand back or felt that he's pushed sand back with his club?  Is it possible, when you're as good as he is, not to realize what you've done....twice?  

 

IMO no. He just didn’t think anyone was watching. 

  • Like 2
  • Thumbs Up 1

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He prolly thought it wasn't fair the ball was in a sandy depression so he must have thought he needed to level the playing field.. I mean literally. 

Edited by GolfLug

Vishal S.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I have not seen a full video. Was he taking practice swings? While looking at the ball? While looking at the hole? Thanks, -Marv

DRIVER: Cleveland 588 Altitude ( Matrix Radix Sv Graphite, A) IRONS: Mizuno JPX-800 HD Irons & 3,4,5 JPX Fli-Hi (Grafalloy Prolaunch Blue Graphite, R); WEDGES: (Carried as needed) Artisan Golf 46, 50, 53, 56 low bounce, 56 high bounce; PUTTER: Mizuno TP Mills 9

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 minutes ago, MarvChamp said:

I have not seen a full video. Was he taking practice swings? While looking at the ball? While looking at the hole? Thanks, -Marv

Post 67:

On 12/7/2019 at 12:43 PM, DeadMan said:

Hmmm...

 

 

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

To me this is were intent needs to be taken out of golf. 

I can understand if you lay the clubface open, you maybe lose reference to the bottom of the club. I think I would have some pattern recognition and realize that the sand behind the ball has changed. I mean, it would go from a crater looking lie to having a grove made behind the ball. Maybe he didn't notice, but still, it really improved his lie.

In the end, he should have been more careful. He's played for years knowing you can't touch sand. I would think that habit would make him just not come close to the sand. 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 minute ago, saevel25 said:

To me this is were intent needs to be taken out of golf.

There is no "intent" here, in this Rule. So there's nothing to "take out."

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Patrick Reed Relief Comment + Waste Area Penalty at the Hero
4 minutes ago, iacas said:

There is no "intent" here, in this Rule. So there's nothing to "take out."

Oh, because when I was watching a commentary talk about this he went on about how intent. 

Matt Dougherty, P.E.
 fasdfa dfdsaf 

What's in My Bag
Driver; :pxg: 0311 Gen 5,  3-Wood: 
:titleist: 917h3 ,  Hybrid:  :titleist: 915 2-Hybrid,  Irons: Sub 70 TAIII Fordged
Wedges: :edel: (52, 56, 60),  Putter: :edel:,  Ball: :snell: MTB,  Shoe: :true_linkswear:,  Rangfinder: :leupold:
Bag: :ping:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
4 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

Oh, because when I was watching a commentary talk about this he went on about how intent. 

I know people talk about it, but read the rule. There's no "intent" here.

You know people don't know the Rules very well. This is simply a matter of fact, whether you did it accidentally or not.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

To me this is were intent needs to be taken out of golf. 

I can understand if you lay the clubface open, you maybe lose reference to the bottom of the club. I think I would have some pattern recognition and realize that the sand behind the ball has changed. I mean, it would go from a crater looking lie to having a grove made behind the ball. Maybe he didn't notice, but still, it really improved his lie.

In the end, he should have been more careful. He's played for years knowing you can't touch sand. I would think that habit would make him just not come close to the sand. 

I think this is the fairest statement.

Whether on purpose or accidental, the action itself improved the lie.  So 2 strokes for doing on purpose, or 2 strokes for being unaware and careless in a situation where a pro should be VERY aware.  Doesn't really matter on the intent.  I don't really see any reason in that tournament at that time for him to even chance penalty strokes, he was playing very well and on track to be in a position to win.

Bill - 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I’ve tried really hard to like him, but damn, he’s making it tough.

  • Like 1

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
15 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

I think this is the fairest statement.

Did you read my response?

GUYS, C'mon!!! There's no intent in this rule. By continuing to talk as if there is, you're just contributing to the ignorance.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instruction Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins
Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 & "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

30 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

In the end, he should have been more careful. He's played for years knowing you can't touch sand. I would think that habit would make him just not come close to the sand. 

Maybe similar to what LeBron James did the other night?  He was slowly dribbling down court, picked up the ball and continued walking and then began to dribble again. Sort of a brain fart.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


28 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

Doesn't really matter on the intent. 

Just like the 'no harm, no foul', the intent debate has raged on for a long time. Even from people who should know better when it comes to rules.

The way I see it is if you ain't preventing, you are trying. 

I see this kind of stuff at club level but think egregious it at top pro level. 

Also, if he thought nobody was watching he is not very bright either. 

I know am piling on but he is full shit. Hope he manages to find redemption at some point. 

 

Edited by GolfLug

Vishal S.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It seems very odd that he would place the club right behind the ball and then take a practice swing away from the ball.

If that is his regular routine, then it's understandable.  But if his regular practice swing does not involve placing the club right behind the ball, then one can only assume he did it to brush away the sand.  Regardless, since the rule does not require any intent....

Don

:titleist: 910 D2, 8.5˚, Adila RIP 60 S-Flex
:titleist: 980F 15˚
:yonex: EZone Blades (3-PW) Dynamic Gold S-200
:vokey:   Vokey wedges, 52˚; 56˚; and 60˚
:scotty_cameron:  2014 Scotty Cameron Select Newport 2

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Reed could have done a lot better for himself than he did. 

It could have been played off as a mistake, but for a guy with his reputation, he sounded too dismissive of it. That's exactly the wrong tact to take with a fellow golfers, both the ones that play against him and those who watch the sport.

Patrick is going to have to do it better and cleaner than everyone else going forward or he's going to known as a cheater for the rest of his days.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • I know of only a few instances where players signed an incorrect score card and my gut is the vast majority of those instances were simple errors and not intentional cheating BUT these are "Pros" and they need to be held to a high standard.  If several thousands of dollars, or millions, is at stake they need to be the professionals they are and take care.  I hate it when it happens but I'll say I agree with keeping the DQ for incorrect score card submitted. AND, since I am not in favor of bifurcation on other parts of the game I'll also hold myself and other amateurs to the same standard. Oh, and I do not year Jordan complaining about the rule.  In fact he said "Rules are Rules and I take full responsibility".  Also, see Scheffler's comments near the end of the attached.  I think this debate is more about fans & the media complaining and not so much about the Professionals complaining. Following Jordan Spieth DQ, debate rages over incorrect-scorecard rule Spieth was disqualified after signing an incorrect scorecard following Round 2.      
    • A few more issues with getting rid of validating scores, and PGA Tour players doing their own scores.  1) The PGA Tour does not run all the tournaments. Example, the Masters is run by Augusta National, the PGA Championship is run by PGA of America, The US Open is run by the USGA, and The Open is run by the R&A. How do you handle these situations? What if the US Open and The Open do not want to use electronic scoring? Do you want golfers to bounce between having to keep track of their scores or not?  2) What if you are on a course where it would be difficult to have score keepers on every hole?  3) What about the Champions tour, Korn Ferry Tour, PGA Latin America, PGA Tour Canada, PGA Tour China? There are other organizations under the umbrella of the PGA Tour, that use the same rules, that probably can't have the resources to do scoring on every hole.  4) Will a score keeper be versed in the rules of golf to know how to score the correct penalty? What if they miss a penalty?  5) Would the players want to validate their scores after a round? I would.  6) People are like, well other sports have it. How many balls are in play in other sports? Football, one. Basketball, one. Baseball, one. In Golf, if you have a 120 golfer field. You could have over 8500 shots taken on the course. Are we sure the PGA Tour can accurately keep track of all those shots? What if a golfer takes 5 hacks to get out of the trees and the scorekeeper missed 3 of them?  It is much more reasonable to keep scoring as is.  I still believe the penalty should be DQ. You can't prove intent of cheating. Not signing for a correct score is worth the highest penalty.   
    • Okay, sure, but it almost all cases on the PGA Tour (and competitive golf generally), it's a fellow competitor for those reasons.
    • Wordle 977 4/6* ⬜🟨🟩⬜⬜ ⬜⬜🟩🟩⬜ ⬜⬜🟩🟩🟩 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
    • Wordle 977 3/6 ⬜⬜🟩⬜⬜ ⬜🟨⬜🟨⬜ 🟩🟩🟩🟩🟩
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...