IGNORED

Faster Play - Is It Hurting the Game?

fburns
Note: This thread is 2140 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Please hear me out. I have been playing golf for over 50 years. I tend to play golf relatively fast. In fact, I often have to force myself to slow down at times. I play to about a 5 handicap. However, I have several friends who have had an interest in learning to play golf. They had been to the range, taken some basic lessons and had general skills to grip the club, swing, etc. We started them teeing off from the 100 yard marker until they were relatively proficient, then moved back to 150 and in a little while the 200 yard marker. Their max score was randomly set at 7 (No one likes a snowman)

Even with those adaptations, the pressure that these new golfers felt from those around them to play quickly was intense. Those around us had zero tolerance for new people who are learning how to play golf on a golf course. We all know that this is a hard game and we have all been there. These men were trained to let others play through, so they really were not holding up anyone. But the comments made to them by those with more skill, or at least speed, were demoralizing. Even the starter suggested that they spend their time on the driving range and avoid the course. We played 18 holes in 4 hours and 14 minutes not exactly a snails pace. So here is my question...

When did we decide that golf was a race? Was it when we stopped walking and started riding? Maybe I am a purist, but isn't part of golf getting away from the rat race?

People often say that new people don't persist playing golf because of three things: It is too hard, it is too expensive and and it is too time consuming. I would add, the game is no longer welcoming to beginners.