Jump to content
iacas

2019 Masters Tournament

1,072 posts / 43412 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

 

For the Nantz haters, note that he didn't say anything for over 2:00 there. Just let what was being seen and heard told the story.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

11 minutes ago, iacas said:

Name 'em! 🙂

I considered that but was called out for ‘poking’ before so I let it go...Think I’ll build that list though ...lol.

1 minute ago, iacas said:

 

For the Nantz haters, note that he didn't say anything for over 2:00 there. Just let what was being seen and heard told the story.

Great catch Erik...I was thinking that when it happened. Smart move by Nantz!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

I considered that but was called out for ‘poking’ before so I let it go...Think I’ll build that list though ...lol.

Poking before it's actually happened is poking. Poking after is calling people to the carpet. It's different. 😄

Lots of good video here:

https://www.youtube.com/user/masters

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I thought the telecast, and Jim Nantz were just fine! Some people can't seem to be happy unless they have something to bitch about! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, gjunkie57 said:

There was something on 12 that made them choose the wrong club.  Maybe the pros here can chime in on how the pros make their club and swing choices.  I couldnt believe how many came up short.  

 

5 hours ago, phillyk said:

Tiger used the same club as the other two in his group.  #12 has swirling wind with a small green, that's why it's so tough.  I think this time the wind was in the face a bit, but they didn't know or feel it?

Just guessing, but I think it was Tiger playing smart.  With the problems of the other 2 guys (and I don't know if he knew about Koepka and Poulter ahead having done the same thing), but I think he went toward the bunker deliberately so that if he came up short as well, he'd still be dry.  That was a case where hitting last may have made all the difference.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I am really happy right now.  This has been a great year in sports for me, so far.  Thanks Tiger!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, Fourputt said:

Just guessing, but I think it was Tiger playing smart.  With the problems of the other 2 guys (and I don't know if he knew about Koepka and Poulter ahead having done the same thing), but I think he went toward the bunker deliberately so that if he came up short as well, he'd still be dry.  That was a case where hitting last may have made all the difference.

FWIW he said that was the plan all along.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Does anyone have his strokes gained stats for the tourney?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, colin007 said:

Does anyone have his strokes gained stats for the tourney?

Overall? You could easily figure that out. (Field average score - his score) / 4 for the per-round average.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

25 minutes ago, iacas said:

FWIW he said that was the plan all along.

I heard him say that also. But 4 of 5 pros got it wrong.  Wow. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, iacas said:

Overall? You could easily figure that out. (Field average score - his score) / 4 for the per-round average.

No, putting, driving, approach shots.

Also, lol at Michelle Wie referencing Tiger's BDE

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This is an interesting article an Jack's expanded thoughts on Tiger's win.

https://www.golfchannel.com/news/jack-nicklaus-tiger-woods-15th-major-victory-2019-masters-hes-got-me-shaking-my-boots


Key quote:

“I felt for a long time he was going to win again," Nicklaus said. "And, you know, the next two majors are at Bethpage, where he’s won [2002 U.S. Open], and Pebble Beach, where he’s won [2000 U.S. Open]. So, you know, he’s got me shaking in my boots, guys.”

Another telling quote:

“I mean there wasn’t any question in mind, after seeing [Francesco] Molinari hit the ball in the water at 12, and Tiger put it on the green. I said, 'Tournament’s over.' It doesn’t make any difference what anyone else is going to do. Somebody is going to make enough mistakes, and Tiger won’t make any, and he didn’t.”

A guy who knew how to win, seeing that in another player.  Very cool.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

16 hours ago, Nail said:

I must have heard it 100 times over the last 3 days. Are you watching it in another language?? Lol

Ha! I must have missed them all. Did hear it today, though, so all is right with the world.  :-)

Congratulations to Tiger and condolences to Molinari and the others It was a fun Sunday to watch.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In case people are interested, Tiger's post-round interview in full: 

 

A lot of painful questions in there, but the bit that will stand out to all of those who read LSW would be the amount of importance he stresses on missing in the right places - i.e. 12, 18. 

Throughout the interview, he comes across as very at-peace and humble - big fan of this interview.

15 hours ago, b101 said:

Dunno. If the wind gets up... I don't see it being that much higher than -13.

Not sure the wind got up, but I'll take this call!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Two closing thoughts:

1) How spoiled for Masters tournaments have we been in the last five years? We are really overdue a poor one...

2) Molinari's game feels perfectly set up for a US Open. He'll be back.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 minutes ago, b101 said:

Two closing thoughts:

1) How spoiled for Masters tournaments have we been in the last five years? We are really overdue a poor one...

2) Molinari's game feels perfectly set up for a US Open. He'll be back.

Agree, i think Molinari is going to go from strength to strength.

I was also pleased how well Poulter did, plus in the interview post round with the BBC he seemed pretty humble at the prospects of being in contention simply stating that while he and Tiger are the same age Tiger is way better so he was just happy to be there and playing well.

Always liked Poults but he's gone up a bit more in my estimation after this weekend.

Plus some great golf from Finau, Koepka and that Xander Souffle fella :-P

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Within the past few years, we've had topics of discussion surrounding the idea and practice of girls playing in boys tournaments in high school golf. To recap: In this topic, a 14-year-old 8th grader won the boys state championship in Delaware competing from 85% of the distance. Delaware at the time didn't have a separate tournament for girls as there were apparently not many girls at all playing. They noted that they have hope to have enough girls to some day have a separate girls tournament. The girls competed on the "team" as well, and the team won too. In this instance, boys play in the fall, and girls play in the spring. The high school for which this girl played doesn't have a girls team, so she's eligible to play for the boys team, and still compete in the regional and state events in the spring for the girls. She played from shorter tees than the boys, and her team did not win/advance. And again, she could compete in the spring against other girls from the same tees. In PIAA, apparently, we have two sisters in the WPIAL (a Pittsburgh area league) that compete for Carmichaels. The school doesn't have a girls golf team, and there's apparently a PIAA rule that says that only one girl from each school can compete in the girls championship (districts, regionals, and then states). Remmey competed for the girls as a freshman and sophomore. Her year-older sister Delaney competed on the boys side those two years but didn't get out of her district (the WPIAL). This year, they put Delaney (a senior this year) through the girls so she'd have a better chance of going to States, and Remmey (junior) went through the boys track. These are individual tournaments, not the team events, which are run separately. I believe they both play on the boys team for Carmichaels. Anyway, Remmey (in the boys track) shot 72 playing from 85% of the distance that the boys played to finish second. The top 22 of 44 players advanced. Her sister, Delaney, shot 90 to miss the playoff to move on to states for AA girls by two. Club House Leaderboard - Scrolf.com Get real-time leaderboard and mobile scoring for your next golf event or league. Works on any mobile device with no app downloads. Here's the first story: Sisters Remmey and Delaney Lohr to compete in WPIAL golf finals — for girls and boys Carmichaels junior Remmey Lohr placed third in the WPIAL girls golf finals last year, but this year she’s competing on the boys side. Here's the second: Carmichaels golfer Remmey Lohr qualifies for PIAA boys championships Lohr used an eagle to place second at the PIAA western regional qualifier. My stance on this stuff remains the same. If a girl CHOOSES to compete against boys (when there's a girl's team available, or a girls track), when she has an alternative, she should be allowed to compete so long as it's on actually equal terms. That means the same tees. This basically treats the boys division as "open." I'm also fine if the rules simply say "boys" and don't allow girls to compete at all for individual titles. For teams, I think the 85% is a good compromise, because some teams literally might not even have enough players to compete if they don't allow girls to play for them, and that would hurt more people than allowing girls to play. Still, these girls should compete through the girls individual track, if available, not the boys. Unless, again, they made a choice to play for the boys when an alternative (girls) was available. Should a girl playing quarterback for the high school team only have to advance the ball 8.5 yards for a first down? Should a girl playing on a boys basketball team get a second, lower basket because girls aren't generally as tall as boys? Should a girls high school pitcher that chooses to play baseball get to pitch from, oh, 50 feet instead? P.S. It's not said above, but the best fix here is to adjust the "one girl" rule. Adjust that, and this isn't an issue. Why penalize girls who don't have a girls team by only allowing one of them to qualify, when four or five girls from a high school with a program could all qualify?
    • I think it's fun. You get to take runs at every hole because every chip shot becomes much easier, and even if not that, you get to take a run at the resulting putt. It's fun to push it to the limit sometimes in order to see how low you can go.
    • That's a very specific scenario covered by the rules. He would be DQed for a serious breach of Rule 14-7b for playing from the wrong place. I take your point, but there really isn't much of a difference between a DQ and 58 penalty strokes.
    • Where have you been? 🙂 Remember? She made a 5 and wrote down (signed for) a 4. She knows what score she had, and signed for a lower one. This isn't the same thing. Because Dave got it wrong. You're DQed for a lower score, you take the higher score. Well, she got 58 penalty strokes, so… It's not like she just got away with it or something. Again, did you miss that whole conversation in the topic I posted up above? You didn't, because you replied in it. He'd be DQed for playing from a wrong place. Such an act can't be "rectified" by correcting the scorecard. Rule 1 says this: That would be such a case. The scorecard could not be adjusted sufficiently because the ball was literally not played from anywhere near where it should have been.
    • I guess I just don't understand why the penalty for that infraction is DQ (especially since in that case she wasn't gaining an advantage since she signed for a higher score) but the penalty for breaking a different rule 29 times over two different days is just the applicable penalty strokes simply because the golfer "didn't know the rules".  I get that they are completely different rules about completely different scenarios, I just don't think it's right that a golfer can break the same rule 29 times over 2 different rounds and not be DQ'ed simply because they didnt know they were breaking a rule. To that point, let's say there was a newer golfer in a tournament and he hit multiple balls out of bounds throughout the round but played them as red staked hazards because he didn't know any better, but then it was discovered after the round and after signing the scorecard that he had played them as such, does that mean he would only get the applicable penalty strokes added to his score instead of being DQ'ed simply because he didn't know it was a rule that white stakes are treated differently than red stakes? That doesn't seem right IMO.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. boxofballs
      boxofballs
      (45 years old)
    2. CaptainsChoice
      CaptainsChoice
      (33 years old)
    3. Dozer
      Dozer
      (56 years old)
    4. Pcorys
      Pcorys
      (34 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...