IGNORED

What Was Your Handicap After 1 Year of Playing?

Bahlahkay

I understand that many PGA players started out when they were kids. Most of them prolly (yes this is a word) had easy access to practice greens, and a club course they could always play on. (could be completely wrong, just assuming)

im not wondering about those types of individuals that got to the PGA tour with a ton of time and commitment put into their game.

I'm wondering if their are any PGA players that started late (earliest 18 years old) and what was their handicap they achieved in 1 year of playing golf. 

Ive heard that breaking 90 in a year is really good.

breaking 85 is a sign to pursue it.

80 and I'd say quit your job and get after it!  

What was yours? 

1. Age you started

2. Handicap after 1 year

If you break 90 after 1 year, that is pretty good and I certainly didn't do it when I started playing in my 40s.

Breaking 85 after 1 year is pretty common among coordinated athletic individuals. It's pretty common with male high school players. They have flexibility and distance.

Breaking 80 after 1 year is very good, but I wouldn't quit your day job. Most D1 school scholarship prospects are scratch or better breaking 70, and the pros are just that much better.

:ping:  :tmade:  :callaway:   :gamegolf:  :titleist:

TM White Smoke Big Fontana; Pro-V1
TM Rac 60 TT WS, MD2 56
Ping i20 irons U-4, CFS300
Callaway XR16 9 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S
Callaway XR16 3W 15 degree Fujikura Speeder 565 S, X2Hot Pro 20 degrees S

"I'm hitting the woods just great, but I'm having a terrible time getting out of them." ~Harry Toscano

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

This may be of interest, from Wikipedia:

Early years