IGNORED

Pace of Play Question

Effington
Note: This thread is 2548 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Pace of Play Question

Hey all, I'm a novice golfer that took 5 years off.  I just brushed the dust off my clubs, took a lesson and am swinging better than ever on the range, which has encouraged me to get on the course.  After reading so many messages here on pace of play, as well as a quick search on the topic, I'm a little surprised at what I've read and wanted some clarification

The first website that popped on my search (http://www.popeofslope.com/paceofplay/), notes that pace of play is too slow for 18-20 handicappers who are very deliberate in their approach (taking practice swings, slowly line up their shots, watch shots completely before moving on, etc.)  With that as my baseline, I will surely be a lag on the course as I'd be ecstatic to break 100 and also do those things as previously mentioned.  The above website also cites dealing with this slow pace as a reason so many quit the game.

Golf is as much, or more about etiquette than any other sport, and I'd like to follow protocol (and be welcomed back).  What types of things should I do to make sure I'm staying in line with expectations on pace?  I see that I should probably schedule a later tee-time as opposed to morning, and probably get a cart (this is disappointing, honestly), but what else?  As a novice I have a built in 30+ shots in my round that an expert would have; does this mean I shouldn't be playing all of those shots and pick up if I'm not on pace?  Honestly, this topic gives me a little anxiety and surely this will also impact my game.

(On a side note, taking no practice swings, not deliberately lining up shots or watching shots completely sounds like a speed round that is not fun!)

• Upvote 1