Jump to content
IGNORED

Patrick Reed vs. the Rules of Golf


Recommended Posts

21 hours ago, iacas said:

The lie is more than the ball.

Your point is taken because it’s the spot on which the ball lies by definition but colloquially “spot” is the area immediately around the ball. Nobody whose ball is sitting down in Bermuda grass says “my lie is great but my area of swing is bad.”

He breached the rule. That much is clear.

I started to write about the definition of lie but deleted it.  He was trying to compare what Reed did to someone sticking a tee in the rough and putting his ball on it.

Under the definition of lie I don't see where sand behind the ball fits in.  While we know sand is not a loose impediment does it fall under "attached natural object?"  Sand isn't attached, a gust of wind could blow it away.  Clearly though 8.1a(4) says you can't "remove or press down sand or loose soil.".

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 529
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I just caught the entire clip of Reed walking up to the spotter and going through the entire process. Nothing looked out of the ordinary.  1. He didn't see it bounce from his shot. 2. He inquir

This is amazing. https://www.instagram.com/p/CK6fYccFPqL/  

Posted Images

How does a player at the highest level of the sport not see that he's pushed sand back or felt that he's pushed sand back with his club?  Is it possible, when you're as good as he is, not to realize what you've done....twice?  

 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

  • Moderator
3 hours ago, Herkimer said:

How does a player at the highest level of the sport not see that he's pushed sand back or felt that he's pushed sand back with his club?  Is it possible, when you're as good as he is, not to realize what you've done....twice?  

 

IMO no. He just didn’t think anyone was watching. 

  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

He prolly thought it wasn't fair the ball was in a sandy depression so he must have thought he needed to level the playing field.. I mean literally. 

Edited by GolfLug
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 minutes ago, MarvChamp said:

I have not seen a full video. Was he taking practice swings? While looking at the ball? While looking at the hole? Thanks, -Marv

Post 67:

On 12/7/2019 at 12:43 PM, DeadMan said:

Hmmm...

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

To me this is were intent needs to be taken out of golf. 

I can understand if you lay the clubface open, you maybe lose reference to the bottom of the club. I think I would have some pattern recognition and realize that the sand behind the ball has changed. I mean, it would go from a crater looking lie to having a grove made behind the ball. Maybe he didn't notice, but still, it really improved his lie.

In the end, he should have been more careful. He's played for years knowing you can't touch sand. I would think that habit would make him just not come close to the sand. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Patrick Reed Relief Comment + Waste Area Penalty at the Hero
  • Administrator
4 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

Oh, because when I was watching a commentary talk about this he went on about how intent. 

I know people talk about it, but read the rule. There's no "intent" here.

You know people don't know the Rules very well. This is simply a matter of fact, whether you did it accidentally or not.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

To me this is were intent needs to be taken out of golf. 

I can understand if you lay the clubface open, you maybe lose reference to the bottom of the club. I think I would have some pattern recognition and realize that the sand behind the ball has changed. I mean, it would go from a crater looking lie to having a grove made behind the ball. Maybe he didn't notice, but still, it really improved his lie.

In the end, he should have been more careful. He's played for years knowing you can't touch sand. I would think that habit would make him just not come close to the sand. 

I think this is the fairest statement.

Whether on purpose or accidental, the action itself improved the lie.  So 2 strokes for doing on purpose, or 2 strokes for being unaware and careless in a situation where a pro should be VERY aware.  Doesn't really matter on the intent.  I don't really see any reason in that tournament at that time for him to even chance penalty strokes, he was playing very well and on track to be in a position to win.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
15 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

I think this is the fairest statement.

Did you read my response?

GUYS, C'mon!!! There's no intent in this rule. By continuing to talk as if there is, you're just contributing to the ignorance.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

30 minutes ago, saevel25 said:

In the end, he should have been more careful. He's played for years knowing you can't touch sand. I would think that habit would make him just not come close to the sand. 

Maybe similar to what LeBron James did the other night?  He was slowly dribbling down court, picked up the ball and continued walking and then began to dribble again. Sort of a brain fart.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

28 minutes ago, rehmwa said:

Doesn't really matter on the intent. 

Just like the 'no harm, no foul', the intent debate has raged on for a long time. Even from people who should know better when it comes to rules.

The way I see it is if you ain't preventing, you are trying. 

I see this kind of stuff at club level but think egregious it at top pro level. 

Also, if he thought nobody was watching he is not very bright either. 

I know am piling on but he is full shit. Hope he manages to find redemption at some point. 

 

Edited by GolfLug
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

It seems very odd that he would place the club right behind the ball and then take a practice swing away from the ball.

If that is his regular routine, then it's understandable.  But if his regular practice swing does not involve placing the club right behind the ball, then one can only assume he did it to brush away the sand.  Regardless, since the rule does not require any intent....

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Reed could have done a lot better for himself than he did. 

It could have been played off as a mistake, but for a guy with his reputation, he sounded too dismissive of it. That's exactly the wrong tact to take with a fellow golfers, both the ones that play against him and those who watch the sport.

Patrick is going to have to do it better and cleaner than everyone else going forward or he's going to known as a cheater for the rest of his days.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Patrick Reed vs. the Rules of Golf

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Our school district announced that they are going back to masks. It will be required for anyone under the age of 11, and then strongly recommended for anyone not vaccinated and recommended for anyone vaccinated. My wife (vaccinated) will likely wear one. My son will have to wear one. Honestly, I’m a little relieved. I think it’s the right choice, given the circumstances. There are probably better ways to do it, but they would involve mandating the vaccine for students and staff. I’m betting that’s coming before the start of 2022, but this is good enough in the interim. 
    • Working with my instructor on some simple grip and setup issues. I actually shortened my driver shaft and regripped with the same grip(gotta love pure grips) after testing some things out. I then added a bit of throw in the DS as mentioned in the last post to get some nice high ball flights with lots of carry and no more bottom half strikes. I am really liking the extension post impact, might need to work on the upper center getting a bit more forward but good progress for now. I don't need as much of a Bubba move as @saevel25 pointed out that I had at SV to counter an over rotating clubface. This will be counted as my yearly swing thread post with video. 😉  
    • This drill will help more for that. Try and keep the right elbow from bending more than 90 degrees too.
    • The numbers are ticking up for daily vaxxing, from what I read.  So that’s some good news.   My wife and I can’t wait for the under 12 to be approved.   It drives us crazy that non-vaxxed adults are doing whatever they want with their kids while we mostly keep ours home and limit contact with people until it’s safer. My wife said there was a long line at Walgreens yesterday for people getting the vaccine.   Fingers crossed.   
    • Thanks! I’ll try to drill out I like the idea of feeling pressure on your thumb. I’ve read the article multiple times. I was doing the armpit drill in attempt to stop getting my right arm behind my shirt seam. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CrappyGolfer
      CrappyGolfer
      (68 years old)
    2. Jacob Vance
      Jacob Vance
      (25 years old)
    3. jax731
      jax731
      (54 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...